Adding Akha Style To My Designs

The last few posts I keep forgetting to make sure the post is going to "ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY".
It seems funny that I cannot add a post to a community after I publish and I'm told that cross posting is not approved of. Many things to learn about this Hive platform!

So for me things are a bit of a mess last week or so. I have tested positive for Covid and also some of my design team at our studio so I am in isolation and we have to shut the office for a week as per Thai law. I am not really sick and also my team are not sick so we all keep working from home - dam this Covid!! I wish it will finish one day.

Right now I have been engaged for a renovation and design/refresh of a residence for a lovely couple that have an eclectic taste. Its a large property that has an ocean view and they are very keen to use different aspects of Thai culture to decorate the interiors. They asked me for some advice on this and of course want to draw on my experience with different local materials and styles found around Thailand villages and communities.

Here a couple of preliminary CGI renders that we put together for them just of the master bedroom and ensuite bathroom....

32204697.c4c857751f2f4054ab9c2ca87d0adb3c.21110917.jpg

MASTER WC2_.jpg

I started thinking of a recent trip I took to North Thailand where I stumbled purely by accident into an Akha village that was having a traditional ceremony about match making. This was fascinating for me because of the traditional costumes that all the ladies were wearing - it makes me so proud of these traditions that exist within Thai culture. I know people can argue that this is not strictly "Thai Culture" as it is more like a minority community that is separate from mainstream Thai culture, but I don't see it like that at all. I feel all these communities are an important part of what Thailand is and all reflect our cultural identity. I started to think how I could try to incorporate some of this Akha handicrafts, weaving and general style into some elements of their villa finishing, furnishings and artwork.

Here are some photos of that encounter.....

IMG_20210101_190713_730.jpg

IMG_20210101_173229.jpg

IMG_20210101_173242.jpg

I love how Thai Hill Tribe fabric and artwork use symmetrical patterns in their designs. I love the bright bright colours that are made all the more eye catching because its always offset against black or white. The detail that goes into these designs is just incredible. This kind of attention to detail is something I feel is very lacking in many aspects of contemporary Thai design ethos. Of course I had to buy some for myself!!

IMG_20201230_090826.jpg

IMG_20201230_090912.jpg

So for now I am stuck at home for this next week and am enjoying the downtime to concentrate on design and not have my team bothering me every 10 minutes with questions. Im working on more sketches and renders for this villa owner with the aim of adding aspects of traditional Thai cultural design and aesthetics to the furnishings and artworks as much as possible. I wish I could revisit these areas of North Thailand again for more inspiration. Maybe after this Covid thing finishes I can get back up there!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center