Enjoying The Tabo At Manolo Fortich!

01950864-80E2-4BEE-876D-6E4B6CD06941.png

It was another wonderful moment chance to go to a significant place in my life. Perhaps this is a place I often went to every Saturday during my high school days when asked for errands by my aunt.

But at present, I do not get to this so often so I was enjoying the fresh produce in every spot I go l, not to mention the tabo at Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon, Philippines.

IMG_7172_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7279_jpg.jpeg

Tabo, merkado, and tiyanggi, in my dialect, simply imply a marketplace where local vendors go together and bring fresh products at very affordable prices. This place is so nostalgic for me as we often went here when I was younger.

My first destination was to go to a stall to get some vegetables and spices. I bought eggplants, carrots, potatoes, pechau, and many spices to have a supply for a week. I also got some cabbage, onions, garlic, and tomatoes.

IMG_7118_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7128_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7121_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7130_jpg.jpeg

The vendor showed me her calculator, and the total bill reached more than my desired amount to buy but she gave me a discount and only asked for the price enough for my money. She even gave me some extra spices as a bonus for buying more from her stall. And I was truly glad since I had saved a bit.

I was truly delighted to buy fresh and organic products from the tabo where I met a lot of cheerful and friendly faces. There were many stalls and the area was so wide so it was fun strolling around to see the cheapest stall that sells products.

IMG_7110_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7145_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7169_jpg.jpeg

Seeing fresh fish at affordable prices, I bought a kilo of each variety. And I was even more delighted when one of my favorite fishes was available not to mention the Yellow Fin. And I also love the Lapu-Lapu fish. I then placed it in my basket as I carried what I bought to every stall I passed by.

IMG_7202_jpg.jpeg

Then off I headed to the plates of seafood area. These were the same vendors from that I would always buy fish, shrimp, shells, and crabs. But before I bought shrimp, and crabs from another vendor, I tried to check the prices, and still, they had cheaper prices if compared to other vendors.

IMG_7198_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7235_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7200_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7207_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7232_jpg.jpeg

The seafood was truly so enticing. Although they were a bit pricey, I just bought a half kilo for each variety so I could budget my money. When I went home, I cooked a variety of menus since the goods that I bought could last for the next few days, and I was happy that they lasted for a week.

The mini shrimps, the seaweeds, the different kinds of shells, the crabs, and more were so fresh. When I got home during lunch, I cooked a soup with the sea shells that I bought. I so love its sweet and salty taste when boiled with spices such as onions, lemon grass, tomatoes, fingers, onion chives, and seasonings.

IMG_7251_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7249_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7241_jpg.jpeg

Then I headed to the next section, just beside the seafood area, the dried fish of different varieties.

Filipinos are known to be resourceful and innovative. So here comes the presence of the dried fishes. It tastes so good when fried and dipped with hot and spicy vinegar. The dried fish was truly so enticing as well so I bought less than a kilo for my favorite variety.

IMG_7261_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7257_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7262_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7259_jpg.jpeg

IMG_7264_jpg.jpeg

And of course, I never went home without buying the native delicacies. There were rice cakes, peanuts, buko juice, and many more.

How I love strolling around at the Tabo and the feeling was truly nostalgic. I hope to be back once more on another Saturday with another wonderful experience. And I went home with a happy heart as I witnessed the locals with the fresh produce from the market.

HiveDivider_sm.png

Disclaimer: All texts and pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.

pinkchic--rc.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center