Diving The Similan Islands

The Similan Islands are perhaps Thailand's best known destination for divers. They are located in the Andaman Sea about 60miles from land. There are about 12 islands I believe and then slight further north heading towards Myanmar water lies the Surin Islands. I have visited these islands many times over the years living here and am always struck by how beautiful they are. The water is just crystal clear and the beaches are like from a postcard. I dived there often and for today's post I would like to feature this video that I filmed and narrated for Earth Touch's Wild Ocean series. I will explain a little about the species encountered during the dive with some screen shots from the video. The actual video is at the end of the post.

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.13.50.png

I love this shot because I feel like I am in an aquarium. Look how blue the water is and how vibrant the colours of the reef are. In the foreground are Clarkes Anemonefish fiercely guarding their home - the bright red tentacles are an anemone where they live.

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.13.58.png

The dendro soft coral in this clip is typical of the Similan Island dive sites. Purple, yellow, red and other colours. Teeming with tiny damsel fish and all kinds of other reef fish. Its an underwater wonderland!

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.14.16.png

This is a kind of Surgeonfish. I cant tell you exactly what kind without referring to a fish ID book but I love them. They are easy to film and generally ignore me and the camera. When fish are busy feeding on the reef that's often the best time to film as they seem pre-occupied, allowing me to get nice and close. Look at the beautiful colouration on the tail of this guy!

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.14.58.png

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.15.19.png

Manta Rays are seen on many of the reefs around the Similan Islands. Every diver wants to encounter a Manta. They are massive and gentle, like giant spaceships cruising over the reef. Often they come to cleaning station where small fish feed on the parasites that live on their soft underside. Mantas generally are not at all bothered by divers and often its up to you get the hell out of the way when they are coming towards you.

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.15.51.png

This Porcupine Pufferfish is too cute! They are like little puppies with their big round eyes and mouth set in a permanent smile. Often they are very camera shy but not this time.

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.29.51.png

Every diver learns to treat Triggerfish with respect. They are very territorial and will attack divers repeatedly with their sharp front teeth if they feel their nesting are is threatened. I had one guy scratch the post of my camera housing once which cost a bloody fortune to replace. I have been very wary of getting to close with the camera since that day. This guy is is doing what they love doing - stirring up the sand looking for snacks. very cool to watch.

Screen Shot 2022-04-24 at 11.32.59.png

Spotfin Lionfish! What an amazing fish and seeing them with their fins out like a peacock is just so lovely. Don't get too close though as the dorsal spines are very venomous.

I hope you enjoyed meeting these fish. Please watch the video and let me know if you have any questions. Have a lovely Sunday Hivers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center