This content was muted by ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY moderators for not following community guidelines.

An Indonesian-style "Nasi Padang" Lunch

Today feels depressing which is probably caused by the cloudy sky above me. These are the times when good food can help change my mood. Every time I'm in this kind of situation, I always go for the type of food that I consider to be my comfort food.

What is your comfort food? Some would say a slice of cake, a burger, or a barbeque, while some would say their grandmother's home cooking. Comfort food can be anything as long as it provides comfort or solace. For me, my comfort food is seafood. It could be any food that comes from the ocean, a fish, a shell food, a squid, or even fresh seaweed. I just really like eating something from the sea especially when it is deep fried or grilled.

So, for this lunch, I ordered a whole deep-fried fish from a Nasi Padang food stall that is located along Bishan Street 11.

IMG_2744.jpg


I like the extra effort of the owner in placing a banana leaf on the plate and then doing a neat arrangement of the dishes. These are small details that make a difference in the dining experience even if it's just a simple meal. In a place like Singapore, these banana leaves don't come for free because it has to come from elsewhere, most likely from Malaysia. That's why I appreciate the creativity of the plating and the presentation as well.

IMG_2741.jpg

IMG_2740.jpg

IMG_2742.jpg

IMG_2743.jpg

It was my first time ordering a meal from this place so I didn't have a clue about the cost of my meal. I was expecting slightly more expensive because it's seafood but it turned out to be S$6.00 only. It's a good deal for this good quality food and generous serving.

IMG_2751.jpg

The fish was cooked to my preference, it wasn't overdone or dry.

IMG_2745.jpg

In this dish, I noticed an ingredient that looked like lump rice or seeds. It is nice but I don't what it's called.

IMG_2750.jpg

It has a nice texture that I like; it's a little crunchy but it gets tender at the center.

IMG_2746.jpg

I'll go back to this place especially to this stall whenever I'm craving Indonesian-style food.

This Nasi Padang stall is located at Block 152 on the side of Bishan Street 11.

IMG_2748.jpg

IMG_2747.jpg


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center