ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #123: Tofu Temptations (Tofu Spaghetti)

Good day/ Good evening to all Hivers..

Again, I am trying to join the ASEAN Hive Community Challenge this week.

At first, I was hesitant to do so because I already had a post here of my home cooked tofu and tomato stir fry. However, there are a lot of ways on how to cook tofu, so I decided to join the challenge today.

My entry for this week's challenge is Tofu Spaghetti.



At first, I thought of cooking tofu with some veggies, but since my daughter really loves pasta dishes and it's her rest day from work today, I finally decided to cook this dish. It is one of her comfort foods. And, I was right! She was very happy!

And since she is free, she helped me in preparing the ingredients and took step by step photos on how I prepare the ingredients and how I cooked it. She grated the cheese, sliced the tofu and opened the canned ingredients. And she's also my photographer this time. I hope you like it. Thank you and God bless!

Let's start with the cooking!



INGREDIENTS:

  • Tofu
  • Canned Mushroom
  • Spaghetti Pasta
  • Spaghetti Meat Sauce
  • Spaghetti Sauce (Sweet Style)
  • Soy Milk
  • Cheese
  • Onion
  • Spring Onion
  • Garlic Powder
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • Crispy Fry Powder
  • Salt
  • Canola Oil
  • Water


PROCEDURE:

Gather all the ingredients and placed them on the table.




Cook the spaghetti pasta in boiling water with salt and canola oil. Stir the pasta from time to avoid sticking. Transfer pasta to the strainer when it's already cooked and al dente. Rinse with mineral water, strain and then set aside.





Wrap tofu with kitchen towel to remove the water, then pat and dry. Then, set aside for a couple of minutes near the electric fan.

Wash the peeled onion and spring onion. Slice the onion into tiny cubes and thinly cut the spring onions. Separate the head parts from the leaves.

Grate the cheese and then set aside.

Coat the tofu with garlic powder, groud black pepper and crispy fry powder. Then cut tofu into bite size cubes. And then set aside.

Open the canned ingredients and get ready for cooking.



COOKING TIME:

Deep fry tofu until it becomes crispy. Then set aside separately some crispy fried tofu for tappings.



On a bigger pan, sautee onion and the head part of spring onions. Then add the strained mushroom, stir for a while and then add the fried tofu.

Mix the tofu and mushroom with the onions. Then add the spaghetti meat sauce. Let it simmer for 3 minutes.





Then add the sweet style spaghetti sauce. Again, let it simmer for about 3 to 5 minutes, but continue stirring occasionally to avoid the sauce to stick and get burned on the pan.

Then add about 1 cup of soy milk. Continue stirring and let it simmer. Then add the grated cheese, enough to make the sauce pretty creamy and balance the saltiness, so there's no need to add salt.

Continue stirring until all the ingredients are well combined, then add the pasta. You can also add some onion leaves. Continue tossing and stirring. And now, it's already cooked.



Transfer the dish to a serving platter or bowl.


Then, put the toppings. Spread some grated cheese... sprinkle some onion leaves and then put some crispy fried tofu at the center.

And now, I'm happy to serve this home cooked tofu spaghetti to my family... especially to my daughter who is a pasta lover.

I hope you like this simple home cooked dish which is full of love for my family. Thank you for reading and God bless us all!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments