Arroz Caldo (Filipino Rice Porridge with Chicken)

Have a nice day dear Hivers!

As always, I hope everyone is doing fine and is healthy.

Keeping healthy is really important to all of us, so this time I want to share another healthy dish that I cooked yesterday for my family. I really love cooking and it really makes me happy even though it's just an ordinary and simple home cooking.

When I cook, I always refer to the preferences of my family and I just use the ingredients which my daughter can eat. I need to be very careful because she has an allergy to some food especially sea foods, that even some condiments from sea food products, she can't really take like the fish sauce. It is supposed to be one of the ingredients for the dish I cooked yesterday, but I just used a little of soy sauce in place of fish sauce.




Well, yesterday I tried to cook Arroz Caldo. This dish is also an ultimate comfort food in the Philippines. It is a rice porridge or lugaw in Visayan. This isn't just a simple and plain porridge or congee because it has chicken and some other ingredients in it like garlic, onion, spring onion, ginger and hard-boiled eggs.

It was my first time cooking this dish for my family because we seldom eat porridge. If we do, we usually have chocolate porridge or champorado and sometimes just plain porridge. But I was happy that I cooked it successfully and my family loved it and asked me to cook it again some other time. They really loved the hearty and rich flavor of my version of arroz caldo. So now, I'll show you how I cooked it my own way.

Arroz Caldo (Filipino Rice Porridge with Chicken)


INGREDIENTS:




  • 1 ½ cups Glutinous Rice
    -1 cup Brown Rice ( it is supposed to be white rice but we only have brown rice )
    -Chicken
    -Eggs
    -Garlic
    -Onion
    -Spring Onion
    -Ginger
    -Kalamansi or Filipino Lime
    -Chicken Cube
    -Salt
    -Ground Black Pepper
    -Soy Sauce instead of Fish Sauce
    -Canola Oil


PREPARATION:




Wash the glutinous rice and brown rice and soak in water.

Boil eggs and soak with cold water when it's already cooked.

Wash and clean thoroughly the sliced chicken.

Wash and cut thinly the spring onions. Separate the white from the green.

Peel and wash onion and then cut into small pieces.

Wash and peel ginger then cut into strips.

Crush and peel garlic then cut or slice finely.

Wash kalamasi and cut into half and remove the seeds. Then, set all the prepared ingredients aside.


COOKING TIME:




Heat some canola oil in a pan or cooker. Sautee some garlic until it is roasted. Remove it from the pan and set aside.




On the same pan, sauté the garlic again together with the onion, white spring onion and ginger until it's fragrant. (But, yesterday I forgot to put the ginger together with the other spices. I put the chicken first instead of ginger... but it’s not yet too late though, so I quickly added the ginger and sauteed it with the chicken and other spices until the chicken becomes slightly brown.)




Then, add ½ tbsp of ground pepper and add some water above the level of the chicken. Let it boil for 5 minutes.




After 5 minutes add the soy sauce and chicken cubes. Cover and continue to boil for another 5 minutes and then squeeze kalamansi just according to your taste and add just a pinch of salt too.




Then add the soaked glutinous rice and brown rice. Stir and mix until the water is reduced and the rice is softly cooked and a bit sticky.





When it's fully cooked already, transfer it to a serving platter and then garnish with boiled eggs, green spring onions and toasted or roasted garlic and top some sliced kalamansi too in case you still want to add some kalamansi juice.




I am done now with my version of arroz caldo, ready to serve for my family.

They appreciated it much and I am happy and it's a great feeling to serve your family a dish that can satiate their palate.

Have you all tried this kind of rice porridge too? If not yet, I would love to suggest or recommend to you all to try it. Thank you so much for dropping by and for reading my post. God bless us all…

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center