Why Bigby's

Hi everyone! Here’s another review of Bigby’s Restaurant.

I think I mentioned in my past articles that Bigby’s has been my children’s favorite restaurant since they were toddlers, but they have always ordered the same food, time and again.

Bigby’s originally started in Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines 1n 1998. It is owned by a couple and the wife’s best friend. Bigby’s is like the fruition of their dreams to put up a restaurant when the three (3) were in college. They wanted to open a restaurant that would give the diners a somewhat global experience, hence the menu is made up of Asian, American and European dishes.


(




They also wanted to make sure that diners are warmly welcomed by their staff with big smiles and are served with huge and generous amounts of food, hence the name Bigby’s.

I am not sure when it opened its first branch in Davao City, Philippines but if my memory serves me right, when we migrated to Davao in 2004, it was already there, inside SM City Ecoland.


It is located between Chowking, a local fast-food restaurant selling Flipino Chinese cuisine, and McDonalds, an American fast-food restaurant.

You will see from the outside the vibe in Bigby’s is different compared to the other 2 restaurants which can be seen anywhere in the Philippines. The vibrant color of its interior makes it very inviting! The lights also seem to guarantee a warm and relaxed dining.


When we go there, whether it is just me and my kids or with other family members or with friends, it is usually for heavy meals. Hungry tummies need to be filled-in! If it is just me and my kids in, our visit usually happens after buying groceries, window shopping or watching a movie.

Last week, my daughter requested me to buy her baking utensils and of course after that, she needed food. Haha! To cut the long thinking of which restaurant to go, we would just choose Bigby’s so we could settle down right away.

I opened the page for the Beverages because she normally orders her favorite drink, Choco Loco. To my surprise, she said she was okay with water!


I then thought she just refused a sweet favorite like Choco Loco because she had some cough that time. Out of the blue, she also did not order her favorite food, Spinach Dip and Spaghetti! She opened the Menu page for Salads and figured out…..


She wanted to try something new. She has been telling me that she needs to stop processed and inflammatory food because she is starting to have some pimples.

Sooooo, she is ordered for Chimi Cha Cha salad. I believe it should be “Chimi Changga”, a Mexican food, but maybe because it is just inspired from Mexico, they did not really copy the whole name. Maybe!


Because of the owners’ concept of fine and fast casual dining, Bigby’s is now one of the most loved restaurants in the Philippines. I believe one of the key ingredients of Bigby’s is the couple’s teamwork where the husband takes care of marketing while the wife and her best friend of take care of food preparation, cooking and presentation…culinary arts, so to speak!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now