Starbucks as Usual

Starbucks is everywhere!

Davao City, Philippines has six (6) branches of Starbucks so far. Three (3) branches are inside malls namely SM City Ecoland, SM Lanang Premiere and Abreeza. The other three (3) are situated in different areas. One along McArthur Highway, one along Torres Street and another in Damosa Complex. Luckily, I have already visited all these branches, but my daughter and I frequently drop by Starbucks in SM City Ecoland Mall since it is the closest to our house.

For the past two (2) weeks, my daughter has been complaining about the pain she feels in her feet. The pain according to her comes and goes. I wanted to bring her to a physical therapist or acupuncturist, but she was scared. Finally, I was able to convince to try another alternative treatment which clinic is situated very near the Starbucks McArthur Highway branch.

My daughter fondly requests for food every time we are out of the house. So, I thought of checking out Starbucks McArthur branch.

I have been seeing this branch every time I’d go downtown but thought this branch is not worth visiting. I am wrong! Never ever judge a book by its cover, ha-ha!

It is the most fascinating among all the branches of Starbucks in Davao City. The architecture is unusual, therefore catches attention. It is landscaped outside, has a semi-circle design, with two (2) floors and is very spacious. Most of the branches here have the typical square or rectangular shape and have one floor only.




The entrance is on the ground floor and anyone staying on the ground floor can use the same door for exit.



What I like about its design is, if you are staying on the second floor, there is another exit door which you can use. So, there are stairs inside and outside the café for entry and exit. Also, staying on the second floor makes it easy to decide whether it is time to go or not because the highway is highly visible. The flow of traffic is predictable by just sitting there while having your drink.



It is really cold inside the cafe, so if you are on the second floor, you can immediately use the Exit door there to stay out for a while and get some heat. Well, at least for Filipinos who are not used to the cold.



And since it was cold, we ordered for something hot. Mine was hot milk while my daughters were hot matcha. I partnered my milk with Ensaymada, a Filipino sweet and soft bread covered with butter and topped with cheese. My daughter partnered her drink with everyone’s favorite in Starbucks, the Fusilli Baked Salmon.




We came in around five in the afternoon and enjoyed our stay there. We did not notice it was almost 7pm when we went out.


One day, you may want to visit the branch. It is strategically located and very accessible. It is surrounded by call centers and restaurants nearby, with banks across if you need cash. It is also near S&R, a membership-shopping club modeled after the warehouse membership shopping chains introduced in the United States.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now