Burning some DEC | Splinterlands 5 Year Anniversary Event 2023

The Splinterlands 5 Year Anniversary Event dubbed "The Great Burning" kicked off a couple of days ago. It involves some amazing prizes like Titles, Alpha Edition Packs, Land Plots and Runis to name a few.

burn-event-thumbnail.jpg

To be eligible for the prizes, participants must burn DEC or DEC-B. The more you burn, the higher your chances of winning something. In addition, the top 200 burners by the end of the event will be guaranteed a Rare Title, while top 60 burners will be guaranteed an Epic Title. Top 10 burners will receive even more impressive prizes. But if you've got enough DEC to aim for those, you probably already know quite well what the possibilites for those spots are ;)

The event also ties in with the Introduction of Guild Power: All DEC burned in the event are converted to Guild Power, meaning they can by used by the burner to upgrade Guild Buildings at a later time. Which is pretty amazing. Considering that I intend to keep helping my Guild The Anti Social Club to upgrade its buildings for the long term, I have no problem burning a significant amount of DEC for this purpose. Especially now that I can get a little extra as a bonus.

So how much to burn?

I'd been saving up DEC for a long time, though surveying my 60 plots ate up all my DEC-B tokens. Before this event started I had approximately 1,1 million left in regular DEC.

Given I have quite a few plots that will probably be requiring quite a bit of DEC to build on, I figured I could burn about half my DEC for the event. So I went right ahead.

600,000 DEC BURNED FOR 1,800,000 BURN POINTS AND 600,000 GUILD POWER!

Getting Competitive

To my surprise, looking at the Leaderboard I found myself at #62 place or something (don't recall exactly). Only 2 spots away from an Epic title?! Let's just burn a little more...

As the day progressed, I kept getting bumped out of the top 60 placement, and kept on burning to stay ahead. I figured if I could only stay afloat until the first day was over and the 3x multiplier started reducing I'd be good.

Before I knew it, I'd burned it all, for a total of 3,435,272 Burn Points (1,145,500 DEC). And did I keep my top 60 placement? Of course not xD But you know what? I don't mind at all. I'd be spending that amount of DEC for my guild eventually, and now with Guild Power being account bound, even more so.

I'm currently sitting at #76, and I find it highly unlikely that I can ever be bumped off the top #200. So I'm pretty much guaranteed a Rare Title + a whooping 343x chance to receive prizes. Not bad! And pretty exciting!

leaderboard-detailed.png

So in the meantime, I guess all that's left to do get back to hoarding DEC for my land buildings. Better get to work!

At the time of writing, a total of 324 million (!) DEC has been burned so far in the event, which is massive! I gotta say I've really enjoyed the event and is very excited for everything that is to come. Especially Land 1.5 which will be rolling out soon.

So how are you liking the concept of this event? And if you participated in the, how much did you burn?


Credits: dividers by @doze. Thumbnail and screenshots by me. Contents of screenshots by @splinterlands

New to Splinterlands? Sign up here!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency