Strategy Corner #11 - Briar Patch Ruleset - Does anyone know what is it ? :D

Strategy Corner Picture.png

Hey Splinterlanders :)

For today's main dish, we have briar patch ruleset. One thing I want to confess first, I didn't even know the name of this ruleset before the recent battle mage secret post :). I always call it the thorn damage ruleset, you know me guys (I hope some of you at least, in Splinterlands.tv streams I always have to ask about any names :) ) that I don't pay a lot of attention to all the names: cards, abilities, ruleset, etc :). I really enjoy the change of battle mage secret cycle. Now sometimes I catch myself rethinking the strategy according to specific rulesets, only because I try to explain my strategy to you here. Let's see what we can find in the ruleset definition.

cooltext433470094302364.png

image.png

Ruleset definition:

All monsters receive the Thorns ability at the start of the battle. Enemy monsters that use melee attacks receive damage back.

Damage returned is equal to damage of the attacker divided by 2, rounded up.
Melee attack monsters with the Reflection Shield ability do not take damage from thorns.
The Amplify ability increases damage.

Firstly, the description of the ruleset in the game is not perfect, sometimes you got just general information which not giving you all information you need. Best way to read the full description as above from the game documentation at least once. You can check all here.

Taking into account only the thorn damage ruleset (yes I will still call it that way :D) I think the most simple and easy strategy is just to avoid any melee monsters. But of course, nothing is just simple, sometimes you have no other options, and sometimes you deliberately choose this type of attack as the primary one to surprise the opponent (of course usually with some kind of protection). It's not so unusual tactic, because if you try to avoid melee damage at all costs, the opponent will try to counter any other types of damage, which could be a great counter to his counter. :) Yep, this game requires a lot of small tricky mind games with the opponent :). Let's jump to the battle.

life divider.png

cooltext433470116206990.png

The battle I have chosen is exactly what I mentioned above, but unfortunately executed in a very good way by my opponent. So this time I will focus maybe more as well for his setup, and how it interact with my monsters. The battle is versus a very good tournament player, on silver level tournaments I got always hard time if I see his name. Let's jump to the line-ups.

image.png

I used quite simple strategy, focusing on a different types of attacks and avoid completely the melee monsters. The opponent chooses one of the best strategy to counter everything. Thorn's damage was in the ruleset, both his first monsters got magic reflect ability, and return fire for range attack was guaranteed by summoners. If you add amplify from the ruleset, it is very hard to imagine how can I win this fight. Let's see what will happen.

image.png

Round 2 just started, We managed to kill his first tank, but we got plenty of reflection damage. Unfortunately with speed buff and debuff from opponent's side , we had no chance to dodge any attack, it was one of the main goal from our Riftwing.

image.png

Round 3, it's going very fast and not in our favor. His Pelacor Conjurer was strong enough to decimate most of our team. The best chance for us was just missing the targets, but it wasn't the case here.

image.png

Round 4, as you can see it was very fast battle, and in my opinion our team was quite good, but opponent could use all monster without any attack abilities and we could have a very hard time winning this.

cooltext433470145225240.png

As I mentioned in the ruleset description, tactics with counter-specific damage types could be very effective. As we see above the opponent executed it perfectly. My team was just killed by themself with all this reflection's damage amplified in the ruleset. Ilthain is a very good summoner, i think the best from Riftwatechers, with addition of Pelacor Conjurere and Blinding Reflector I stand no chance for this fight. But let's see what our team represents, overall I think it's still solid choice, unfortunately I got no access to Iltahin for that fight.

cooltext433470188333492.png

life divider.png

image.png

Thaddius Brood, not the first time mentioned as Core Team. Specifically if you have some indication that opponent's could use more magic monsters Thaddius is always good choice. Briar Patch is for sure one of that indications. Another choice which could be as good or sometimes even better is Owster Rotwell, but I rarely rent it and it's good usually in lower mana matches.

life divider.png

Riftwing, is controversial card. Some players say openly that it's garbage and doing nothing. In my opinion, the card is situational but could be could. I really like it to use in Little League ruleset or with thorn.. sorry Briar Patch ruleset :). In our today's battle it has a hard time because of all the speed buff and debuff, and the best thing about Riftwing is those few misses which could win you the match.

life divider.png

image.png

Ravenhood Warden, as Thadius I think it was also mentioned before in Core Team. Great card in general, but with Thaddius where you lower magic damage of opponent's team some armor protection is the key. For rest of the team of today's battle you can always rely on solid magic attack damage dealers from death team. We mentioned them several times before.

life divider.png

cooltext433470163150219.png

Briar Patch is a very interesting ruleset. It changes a lot with a way of thinking. One method is to avoid the melee completely, but as we see in today's battle it could be quite easily countered, because for the opponent has so much easier time to predict and be ready for less damage type and targeting options. There aren't many no-melee monsters with opportunity, sneak usually is out of the question. So it's much easier to be prepared for snipe and frontal attacks.

image.png

I hope you like this kind of battle and strategy presentation. More strategy analysis, discussion, and prediction games you can find on my Wednesday Splinterlands.tv stream. You can check the schedule here

If you have any comments, please do not hesitate. Do you think I could improve anything tell me :)

cooltext433470237508340.png

If you wish to try out Splinterlands you can use my reference link.

Thumbnails and other pictures borrowed with permission from the Splinterlands team or made in Cooltext

image.png

We continue our game from the previous week, today new battle, new card to win :).

I come to some idea, I hope you will like it and participate. Every week I will publish one battle, and your goal is to point out first victim of the battle and who will be the winner. This game is exactly the same as my prediction game which I run on my Wednesday Splinterlands.tv stream. I know that not everyone can attend the stream, so I hope you will still have fun in that way. More about rules you can read here.

Among all participants who get correct answer I will randomly (probably on my Wednesday stream) choose one winner.

The prize of first blog prediction game for lucky winner will be the epic card:

image.png

Here we got the battle:

image.png

Game instruction:
Try to point out which monster will die first on the battlefield and who win the battle

  • t - top player
  • b - bottom player
  • number - order counting from the first position

Examples:
t2b = monster on the second position of top player die first, the bottom player wins
b6t = monster on the sixth position of bottom player die first, the top player wins
t3t = monster on the third position of top player die first, the top player wins

cooltext433470219420657.png

image.png

Previous articles:

18
17
16
15
14
13
12
11
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency