Just Made a HandBag For my Customer

Hello friends of #HIVEDIY, hope you are all fine. This is actually the first time am making a post to the community. I especially want to thank @equipodelta, @gaboamc2393, and every other team maker of the community for the effort in making sure that the community is growing in progress.

img_20220411_wa0010.jpg

I am a tailor who likes sewing different dressing styles for my customers by making the materials which the customer gave to me to work for available for him/her according to the time of our agreement. Because of my craftwork experience in sewing and my background history as a Nigerian, I also specialize a making wonderful women's handbags which are sometimes called by most of my customers within and outside the State regarded as Aba-made bags.

img_20220410_wa0001.jpg

When we talk about Aba or Onitsha-made material, we refer to those materials like shoes, palm slippers, bags, weaved, knitted, crocheted, and other materials made by hand from craftwork. This type of material is always strong in quality and in a long-lasting period. I have been making all types of handmade bags for some time now and none of my customers has ever complained to me that the handbag which I made and sold to her didn’t last long before they buy another one.

img_20220410_wa0008.jpg

Sometimes, I encounter different challenges from my customer because some of them are not always patient to wait for their demanded handbag from me or my team to be completed from working it and they will start to complain and may even harass you but what can we do in the field of craftwork from our stubborn customers across the globe. Well, every craft worker needs to be always patient with his/her customers.

img_20220410_wa0011.jpg

I made this wonderful handbag which I just shared with you here through the #hive and #HIVEDIY community for one of my recognized customers who stays in Lagos Nigeria. Let me just gist you the materials and how I made the handbag without wasting much of your time.

img_20220410_wa0012.jpg

Materials which I used to make the handbag ready are:

Leather: this is the type of material made from the skin of mature and young animals to be used for craft works for the making of handbags, shoes, and many others. Sometimes, the type of leather which I used to make my handbags could be locally or internationally made.

img_20220410_wa0013.jpg

Handbag design pins: These are small tiny pins made of different colors and sizes to be used to get the handbags more colorful and fanciful. The pins are also majorly used to support in holding the bags made materials like the leather, foam, and carton together to avoid water or moisture damaging them.

img_20220410_wa0015.jpg

Empty carton: This is just a material gotten from a waste packaged material used in handbag making to pad the cover leather of the bag to make it thicker and also to assist in the closing of the bag.

Foam: is used in handbag making to the surface lather and the carton is used to pad the leather together to make the bag neat and colorful.

img_20220410_wa0019.jpg

Gum: this is just a common material in the area of craftwork used to gum the leather and every other material together in handbag making.

img_20220410_wa0018.jpg

How the handbag was prepared:

Getting every material ready that you want to use for the handbag making is very important but before then, you must have determined the type, size, and color of the bag you wish to make.

img_20220410_wa0004.jpg

Take a measurement of the bag from the leather with a measuring tape.

Sketch the drawing on the surface of the leather same as the carton and the foam to be used.

img_20220410_wa0002.jpg

Cut down the leather, carton, and foam with scissors as measured carefully to avoid any damage or waste of material.

Gum the surfaces of the materials and sun for some hours in hot areas.

Gum together the areas very important to be gummed.

img_20220410_wa0021.jpg

You can sew some areas with a sewing machine to make them neater and stronger.

Fix your designed handbag pins to the body of the handbag.

img_20220410_wa0009.jpg

Then use light cotton materials to cover the inner surface of the bag to make the bag look international.

Sew and fix the hand of the bag.

img_20220410_wa0020.jpg

img_20220411_wa0000.jpg

img_20220411_wa0003.jpg

img_20220411_wa0006.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center