Three Holidays On The First? It Could Be Worse

Celebrate October Write Covering Culture.jpg


World Vegetarian Day: Do Eggs Count?

That's the question on my mind today, among other things. I suppose since eggs aren't technically meat, that they'd be okay with vegetarian dishes. I don't know why I'm conflicted.

I don't mind that the avocado toast could have an egg and still be vegetarian. I enjoyed the guacamole on whole grain toast. The provolone cheese added a light base for the avocado spread. Not to mention two slices of bread the size of plates, I was fed enough.

My next task is to take those instructions I found online and transform raw ingredients into peanut butter-baked goodness.

I hope someone either answers my question or responds with some vegetable dishes of their own. It may not happen tonight, as I've planned some black bean burgers, but I would catalog and try them at some point.

A nice blogger by the name of Felix once mentioned a nice potato dish to me in passing that I never tried. How regrettable.

IMG_0137.jpg


National Homemade Cookies Day: Peanut Butter Oatmeal

I can't explain why, so don't bother asking. I just love peanuts. Just recently I have tried peanut in savory dishes, which are popular in Thai cuisine. Prior to cooking for myself, I would just eat peanuts or peanut butter at any opportunity.

I especially enjoy slices of toast with peanut butter accompanied by hot chocolate. I dunk the bread in the hot drink, the toast softens, and the cocoa takes in some of the peanut oils. It's really something for the wintertime, when it's blindingly cold.

So I'm making these cookies, which typically sport raisins. I am not adding the dehydrated fruit to my batch though, because I'm chef for this recipe. I'll listen if you like them, raisins that is, but you add them to your food.

Oatmeal cookies are plenty delightful without raisins, if you ask me. The combination of the two adds some uniqueness they might lack on their own. So, let me move onto the last holiday I'm celebrating this October 1st, and bake them.

You'll want pictures, I presume.

IMG_0147.jpg


International Music Day: The Magic of Anime Soundtracks

As a lover of anime and reader of manga, I can't help but draw attention to how essential music is to these shows, especially as today is International Music Day.

There’s something about original soundtracks that can convey so much emotion, even without words. Take Yoshihisa Hirano’s brilliant score for Hunter x Hunter.

The wind instrument in Legend of the Martial Artist really captures a lone practitioner honing their skill. I often find myself playing soundtracks in the background while I work or write. Sometimes, the instrumental music communicates more than any lyrics could. Elegy of the Dynast is one such track, that often mirrors the opening theme, but the string instruments sound so melancholic, if I listen to it at the right moments, I cry.

Lately, I’ve been watching the anime Wistoria: Wand & Sword, and I was struck by how the music enhances the viewing experience. A lot of things set this series apart, but the soundtrack elevates every scene. I mean, this is just another Black Clover until the tension and music grip you when Will puts his goggles on and magic comes flying at him with ridiculous scale.

What are some of your favorite soundtracks—anime or otherwise?

I didn't go too far into soundtracks because I can't claim they're all international- whether by origin or original composer, I'm sure there's plenty of examples.

The music composed for The Last of the Mohicans humbles me so. The Kiss is a great example of a single instrument leading the way by delivering impact solo. Of course, more come in as support, but that string is so stoic, so determined. Trevor Jones and Randy Edelman did wonderful work.

I might bake cookies so good to this music, it moves you to tears.

IMG_0139.jpg

Or the cinnamon will get ya.


Conclusion

Today's been a good day. Whether by luck or intention, I focused on a lot of culture- cuisine and music. I'm not quite done with the cookies, or sharing this post, but the process has been fun. I drove to the supermarket this morning, which I don't often do. I'm about to bake, too. And I've eaten foods I don't normally as a nod to better health and all those who do.

These small celebrations are part of what makes life interesting. I hope you’ll join me in reflecting on how these observances might play a role in your own day—and don’t forget to use #CelebrateOctoberWrite to share your thoughts, experiences, and creations.

IMG_0146.jpg

Some proof of work, in case you were curious.

IMG_0134.jpg

And a big thank you to

@tarazkp creator of this community, and one who inspires me to reflect and share. I hope these posts aren't too off topic for the space. As usual, I pay out 10% to the community in which I make posts, as my dues to those welcoming enough to allow me to share.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center