Fasting - Feasting and surrendering to the holy vibes of Navratri.

It was in 2016 that I came to learn about naturotherapy. It was a process of abstaining from the regular food atleast once in a week i.e fasting. It allows body mechanism to relax and help to strengthen the immune system. It was good session where I learned the benefits of fasting. I started following it and in quick time I get to see the results. Once in a week, I rely mostly on fruits and water. I have never been to fasting before that. But that session and persinal experince helps me strictly follows it. This allows me to test myself a bit longer, and soon I started to observe Navratri fasting.

1000051881.jpg
(own edited image)

Spirirtual aspects.

Navratri is a 9 day festival that worships nine forms of Godess Durga. It falls twice in a calendar year. Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri. While the later falls during the winter month, chaitra Navratri is celebrated in the spring and summer seasons. Today is the fourth day of the auspicious Chaitra Navratri and I am completelly relying on fruits diets. No foods no salt. I abstain myself completelly from foods and take fruits at regular interval. It has been believed that observing Navratri fasting helps to detoxify and purify our body and mind. The festival of navaratri is considered to be very auspicious. Many people observe fasting, they worship, perform prayers. To purify the bodies and minds, many people like to avoid onion, garlic, non vegetarian food, alcohol. They follow a simpler and common food habits and stay hydrated. This helps in maintaining cleanliness. It is also a time for spiritual and mental reflection. Navratri can help cleanse and detoxify the body by giving the digestive system a break. After all our body too is a mavhine that works 24*7.

1000051872.jpg
(my morning diet)

Fasting Experince

As the auspicious month of Navratri is going around, So my diet remain as content as possible. Honestly, speaking 4 days has already gone by of this year Chaitra navratri, I did not experince any kind of weakness in my body. but I do take a sound sleep than before. Today I woke up at 4AM, done half an hour of stretching, and went on to perform daily activity. Even, I drive for more than 30km on hot sunny day. People seems to be exhausted, but as of now, I hardly find any difference. Call it the power of the divine power or the faith, I would like to see myself completing the entire 9 days. Still 5 days to go.

I am not so sure, but some people.suggest that observing fasting for 9 days helps in fat reduction and weight loss. In my 4 days, I am already experinceing a bit lighter than before. But it will be interesting to see, how the body cope after the fasting is over. While many people like to eat good amount of food made up of Pure ghee and other stuffs, I am trying to completelly rely on fruits.

1000051879.jpg

Grapes, chumcumber, banana, apple, help in the natural detox processes, kidney function, and providing sustained energy. Fruits are high in water content and fiber, which help us to feel feel full and hydrated. However , complete fruits diet does not provide all the essential nutrients. So to balance out I ocassionally take fox nuts which is protein rich. I also avoid taking large quantity of food, as it may lead to high sugar intake.

A balanced diet is important for our body, and so doesnit applies during fasting. I am looking forward to experince a mental peace. The navaratri festival help in reducing the feelings of isolation and provide a good support network with the divine power that is essential for emotional well being.

Too early to get any result and being positive is a way to go.

Peace!!

Namaste @steemflow

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center