Like reacquainting with an old friend

1.jpg


I'm slowly losing my vision with age, but I'm happy that my sense of smell is still powerful.

I take note of aromas and scents because I am very much into mindfulness, and olfaction is one of my stronger senses.

Still, for some reason, I had stopped wearing perfume. This could have happened since I was living on a narrowboat, and scents attract insects by the canal and I am a natural mosquito magnet.

I'm so delicious that mosquitoes can't stop eating me 🙃 (I fucking hate mosquitoes!!!).

I prefer light, fresh, floral scents, never musky, and not fruity. My two favourite perfumes that I've worn for donkeys are Issey Miyake and Jadore.

A few months ago while I was in Jamaica, I stumbled upon this old photo below, which brought happy memories of an old favourite perfume that I wore in the late 90s. Right away, I missed that side of me.

I first got into perfumes while working as a Concierge at a resort many moons ago, and one of the perks was gifts from the duty-free shops.

jodi.jpg

This photo is priceless. I went through the perfume phase of my life with these friends. We all like light fresh scents. The green flowers in our outfits triggered memories of the Cabotine de Grès, its unique green flower cap.

Isn't the flower cap attractive, I like the font too.

Somehow I was misled into believing that the line of perfume was discontinued, but it might have been a miscommunication and probably the seller had stopped selling the brand.
Haha, eBay is to the rescue. I found this perfume straight away at a good price, and I was ecstatic!

I wondered if maybe I had outgrown the scent, but memories of the captivating, light, floral scent, a distinct one, came rushing back, so I took a gamble and ordered it. The Cabotine de Grès has citrusy slightly spicy notes that are sharp, but balanced.

The package arrived yesterday, and somehow the mailman did not knock on the door. I guess it's because it was raining heavily. I just happened to look outside and saw the box.
I anxiously opened the package and sprayed a light mist on my arm's pulse, it was like reacquainting with an old friend.

Am I pleased with the purchase? You bet! It's ideal for everyday wear, and I'm light-handed when wearing perfumes, as I don't like overpowering scents.

Too much perfume to me becomes a pleasant body odour.

I tend to only spray perfume on pulse areas lightly.

Will I ever go back to wearing Issey Miyake and Jadore? Of course! But for now, I'll be enjoying this one:)

What's your favourite perfume?
What influences your choice?

I think some people can sniff a scent and just go with whatever they find, but I always go back to my favourite ones.


All the photos belong to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
52 Comments