Wednesday Walk: Squash and Watermelon

I love vegetables. There is just a wonderful array of flavors and textures which you can savor when you eat.

I also love planting vegetables! I've been planting them ever since I had my first home. I planted and planted like there was no tomorrow... that was 21 years ago!

No matter how small a space you have, you can plant vegetables. I currently have such a small space, and I use pots to plant vegetables.


This year I decided to forgo the tomatoes, and eggplants, and malabar and okra, and what-not. Why not plant the usual? I think it's because of vacation plans 😜, hehehe.

Instead, I planted zucchini squash!

Can you see it in the photo above? It's a tiny lizard! And I captured it while taking photos of the squash plant.


In my backyard, there is some room to grow a vegetable (not in a pot).

I planted a set of three groupings of three to four squash seeds each. I placed in a spot where it is sunny all day.


They are flowering already. I still don't know which are the male flowers from the female because they are quite young yet.


But as soon as I can tell, I will pollinate the females so that I can have plenty of fruits!


How did I plant squash? I made a mound for the seeds. Then with my fingers, I buried one seed at a time, about 3 to four pieces each. And I spaced the groupings of seed 8 inches to 10 inches apart. Simple.

I watered the seed every day, and this is how it looks today!


Now, this is watermelon. I did the same thing with these. It' a long 90-days growing season, and I think I planted the seeds a little late. We'll see.


I look forward to a bountiful harvest πŸ₯°. Almost everything homegrown in the garden tastes better!



I hope you are enjoying your day! Until the next one!

😍#ilikeitalot!😍

Join us for #wednesdaywalk of @tattoodjay. It is so much fun. It is in collaboration with @elizacheng's #makemesmile challenge.



This post for the Show us Your California Contest Week 118 by @thesocalhive.
Thank you @derekrichardson for this contest.


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone, unless specified.



Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses πŸ₯°πŸŒΊπŸ€™!!!!

@silversaver888


All comments written on any LADIES OF HIVE posts receive staked ARCHON tokens along with Feathered Friends, Reflection Hunters, and Shadow Hunters posts.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
67 Comments