Hive community spotlight #35: Interview with @deraaa

20240929_113837.jpg

Welcome to another exciting edition of Hive Community Spotlight!
In this 35th edition, we have the pleasure of featuring a multi-talented writer and community leader who has made waves across different niches on Hive, @deraaa. From insightful book reviews to engaging personal stories, she has continued to inspire the Hive community with diverse content and leadership in the Nigerian Hive community. Join in as we learn more about hee journey, accomplishments, and vision for the future.

Who is @deraaa?

@deraaa is a passionate writer, community leader, and content creator on Hive who has written on a wide array of topics, ranging from book reviews to personal reflections. They are also an active figure in the Hive Naija community, contributing to its growth and vibrancy. Recently, @deraaa achieved the impressive feat of publishing a book, showcasing their dedication to the craft of writing and storytelling. As a Nigerian Hive user, @deraaa plays a significant role in fostering unity and engagement within the community.

Summary of the week's edition

Question/TopicSummary of Response
How did your Hive writing journey begin?Came to Hive to earn while job hunting but grew passionate over time.
Most rewarding aspect of being Hive Naija AdminLoves the camaraderie and connection in the Nigerian community.
Surprising part of publishing a bookSurprised at how quickly they finished writing—7 days!
Exciting current projects on HiveInvolved in the BRO community’s Raffle draws.
Advice to newcomersDon’t expect anything from anyone; work hard to be noticed.
Writing routine and content creationWakes up early, engages in communities, and focuses on writing for short, intense bursts.
What keeps you consistent?The desire to improve and the support from Hive friends.
Minimalism and its role in lifeGrew up as a minimalist and enjoys decluttered spaces for mental clarity.
Challenges on HiveThe struggle with validation but realized self-worth doesn’t come from rewards alone.
Long-term goals for HiveHas big plans for Hive Naija and believes funding will come in time.

Interview with @deraaa

20240330_221802.jpg

You've written about a wide range of topics, from book reviews to personal experiences. How did your journey as a writer on Hive begin?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • I came to Hive for a major reason. I was told I could earn enough to keep me afloat till I got a good paying job. However, when I got here, I was challenged. I’ll say I was very lucky. I had an empathetic onboarder, got signed up into the Newbies Program and then, I had to find niches (which wasn’t easy, don’t think I even have one till date) and engage with others. It started fun!

20240330_221802.jpg

As a Community Admin for Hive Naija, what has been the most rewarding aspect of fostering a Nigerian community on Hive?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • Oh! I love Hive Naija. Even from the days of the previous MODs and ADMIN, I loved everything that had to do with the Nigerian community on Hive. From the shows on Telegram to the Discord server.

  • One of the most rewarding aspects of being active in the Nigerian community is the togetherness. The banter, the sarcasm especially on Discord. I and the MODs have a seamless flow because we understand each other and built a connection over this beautiful community.


20240330_221802.jpg

You recently published a book! What was the most surprising part of the process, and what advice would you give aspiring authors?


20240330_221802.jpg

IMG_1112.jpg Image from Deraa

  • I would say the most surprising part of it is how I got to finish it…lol. Contrary to belief, writing a book is not advanced mathematics. And I learned that in 7 days because that’s how long it took me to publish that book.

  • If I’ll tell aspiring authors anything it’ll be, don’t overthink it. Your first book? Don’t overthink. Just write on something you really like, something you’re passionate about, gather your resources, you can always edit later.


20240330_221802.jpg

Are there any specific projects or initiatives you're currently involved in on Hive that you're particularly excited about?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • Uhm. Well, not directly but I recently picked up doing some things for the BRO community. I handle the Brosonleo account and we run Raffle draws weekly. For now, I’m just on the bench being the hands-on babe. I hope as time goes by, I get to do more.

20240330_221802.jpg

As someone who has been active on Hive for a while, what advice would you give to newcomers looking to grow and thrive in the community?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • The first thing I would tell them is no one owes you anything on Hive. That mindset will help a lot. If you want to be noticed, you have to do the work. Unless you have a solid connection on Hive, don’t expect people to fawn over you.

20240330_221802.jpg

Do you have a particular routine or ritual when it comes to writing and creating content for Hive?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • Oh yes! I have created so many routines over time. I’m kind of restless so I don’t stick to one thing but, in the midst of it I find that I have some things that don’t change. Waking up early and scouting out communities I want to engage in for the day. One of those communities is where I’ll drop a post for the day. When it comes to writing, I get in the zone, so I close off everything else and focus on writing for the next 30-45 minutes. After that, I edit and proofread for 10minutes (used to be 1 hour) and I only post after I have interacted with those communities.

20240330_221802.jpg

What inspired you to keep creating content so consistently?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • I want to be a better writer. I have people who challenge me on Hive (especially fiction) and I thank God they are my friends. Plus Hive gives me something to look forward to. There’s also the incentive but the fact remains that I have improved visibly as a writer thanks to the Hive Blockchain.

20240330_221802.jpg

You’ve posted in The Minimalist community. What does minimalism mean to you, and how does it manifest in your everyday life?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • I didn’t know it but I grew up a minimalist. I have no desire for things I don’t need. I like my space a lot and when it begins to get cluttered (physically and/or mentally), I lose my sense of direction.

20240330_221802.jpg

What has been the most challenging aspect of building your presence and following on Hive, and how have you overcome it?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • The most challenging aspect had to be me. I was so obsessed with being validated on this blockchain I did and wrote things I wouldn’t now, however, when I got to the realisation that my writing was enough, the heart I bare with my words are enough, I stopped. It wasn’t easy though. It’s so easy to believe (based on numbers) that you’re not doing enough but trust me, if you look at the rewards as your measure scale, you’ll miss the whole point.

20240330_221802.jpg

What’s your vision for your future on Hive? Are there any long-term goals you hope to achieve on the platform?


20240330_221802.jpg

  • There are a lot. I have big dreams for Hive Naija. There’s an idea I’ve been toying with for some time now and it’ll need big capital but I don’t worry about it. Money will come, and we will “Laud it”.

20240330_221802.jpg

Project/Community Highlight

One of the major highlights from this interview is @deraaa's role in the Hive Naija community. As an Admin, she's been instrumental in maintaining the community's close-knit environment, and driving engagement. Beyond Hive Naija, @deraaa is also involved in the BRO community, where they manage the Brosonleo account and run weekly raffles. Their contributions showcase their passion for building community spirit and bringing people together.

The Bro Community was formerly known as the ManCave Community founded by @raymondspeaks on Hive.
The community was made with the vision to give men a voice in a world where they are suppressed by “woke” people. It was supposed to be a men space.
However, it became the BRO community to include the women who came to like the project and bought the tokens. The Bro projects are part of the few (if not the only) successful projects on Hive.
BRO is about 7 Hive in price, LGN broke the 1 Hive Peg and still climbing. That’s just some of the projects. Then we have GIFU that was just launched a few months back. _ Deraaa

Below is the link to the community:

created/hive-189872

Below is the link to the interesting book published by @deraaa:

https://a.co/d/8NRcMbm

20240330_221802.jpg

A huge thank you to @deraaa for sharing such valuable insights and personal experiences with us. Your journey and dedication to Hive Naija and other communities have been truly inspiring. We are excited to see what the future holds for you and the community you help foster.


20240330_221802.jpg

Conclusion

This interview has been a wonderful exploration of the remarkable work @deraaa has done on Hive. Their passion for writing, community-building, and minimalism shines through, inspiring us all to pursue our goals with focus and determination. Be sure to check out their posts, engage with their content, and follow their continued journey as a community leader and writer on Hive.

🌺🌼🌺

Special thanks to:

@thekittygirl
@wesphilbin
@snook

For their valuable support. See you all in the next edition 🤗

View Previous interviews here 👇

@inthespotlight

20% reward of this post goes to the interviewee

20240216_144220.jpg

20240330_221802.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center