LOH #115: How I cope during the current inflation

source

Hello ladies, a happy new year to you all, I'm so glad to participate in my first #ladiesofhive weekly contest of the year, we were asked two questions by @joanstewart, which I will be answering the second, which states:

With Inflation hitting most countries, what plans have you made to keep within budgets? Are you armed with information before doing your grocery shopping, paying insurance bills, and utility bills? All is ever increasing, except earnings, where many obtain no inflationary increase — or worst still, not earning an income.

Truly, the inflation has become a real problem to all, several countries being hit, and mine is no exception, last month, I did a lot of market visit due to the nature of my job, i'm always sourcing for materials for new projects, the experience wasn't funny and pleasing at all, after buying a product at a particular price this week, the next week or time you go to buy the exact thing even from the same store, only for you to discover that there's been an increase in price,
its literally the same problem everywhere now, food stuffs and other commodities are not left behind in the inflation.

Since the likelihood of the prices coming down is almost zero to none, its now left to us to plan ahead also do dome budgeting in order not to fall behind with the inflation.

What I do

1 I buy from wholesalers

I recently discovered a market where consumers can directly buy foodstuffs like rice, beans and garri(cassava flakes) which are the most basic consumed meal in my home, from the distributors and share amongst ourselves, this has really been of help to me lately, as a huge percentage is cut off compared to buying foodstuffs directly from the retailers around me, we also have a WhatsApp group dedicated to that, in the group, we are always updated on any foodstuffs available fie sharing at cheaper rates. The percentage cut off/ balance left can be used to sort out other basic necessities or just directed towards savings.

2 I spend on needs not wants
source

In times like this, one doesn't need to be told to spend less, no impulse buying anymore, at the beginning of the month, I make sure to draft out a list of items needed in the household , also utility bills and subscriptions are added, that way I can monitor my spendings and make sure we don't run out of important things needed in the house.

3 Save! Save!!Save!!!
source

Although , we don't pray for emergency situations, but the truth is, there are times when they creep in on us, at such times, the savings comes to our rescue, so I make sure that after spending on our basic needs, there is always something left to save, also, some better investment opportunity might come up in the future, that's where the savings come to help, using inflation as an excuse not to save is a no no, just spend within your reach, not above, this is the time to be a minimalist, hopefully, things better for us in the future.

This post is in response to the #ladiesofhive contest #115

Thank you for reading❤❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency