❤️ 🧶 🧵Knot Another Knitting Tutorial -Part 5 - A Contagious Community Habit is Forming: Knitting for Charity!❤️ 🧶 🧵

Yesterday, I went for a checkup with my GP and psychologist. I was feeling quite tired, sore and under the weather until I spotted the basket in the corner!

This initiative was started by the receptionist and one or two of the patents. Its phenomenal how knitting is really trending now, after so many years of being relatively dormant and out of fashion. Anyway, the motivation behind this has nothing to do with fashion, but just like my own knitting, it is for charity and to help manage my anxiety.

So the idea is, that the knitting, yarn, and needles are left in the basket and patients in the waiting room can just pick an item and carry on where the last person left off. There is no judgment for dropping stitches or making mistakes. The result is a much more pleasant waiting experience: rather than reading tabloids or medical books on hemorrhoid cream (Lol).

Aside from us adult ladies, a young girl in school uniform - about 10 years old - came in for her appointment while I was waiting (I was very early) and she went straight for the knitting and got straight to it! It's so lovely seeing the craft still being passed down to future generations.

As a community, the scarves are slowly completed by multiple patients and then donated to charity. How lovely is that?

My own knitting is coming along so nicely! I actually measured it this morning and I have made such incredible progress! We're almost at a full meter now - measuring 91cm.

It is definitely going to keep someone very warm! It's definitely an easy dopamine fix and is much better than trying to grab a little dopamine from spending hours scrolling memes on social media.

It's allowed me to feel like I am making a difference, while simultaneously supplying me with mental stimulation and meditative relaxation in the process.

Now I am just going to need to figure out how to cast off!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center