Barely Productive Day, Irrigation Lines, T-posts and Fence - Monday

Yesterday I woke up incredibly sore all over. I have been working pretty hard to get the farm going for the season and it all caught up to me I think. It's good to have down days to recuperate and rest but not in the middle of the busy time of year.

IMG_20220425_060602.jpg

Once the sun was up the clouds moved in and stayed for much of the day. I managed to get all the irrigation lines closed and staked down. Then after turning the zones on I found only 2 emitters that had broken off and needed to be replaced. I was a bit surprised by it only being 2 as I have generally had to replace more each spring.

IMG_20220425_100703.jpg

The t-posts were set in the tomato row on the left and I hauled the shorter posts over for the cucumber row n the right. I got the posts all pounded into the ground and managed to hit a couple rocks in the process. I brought fence rolls in and got the tomato up and part of the cucumber which ended up being short by abut 5 or 6 feet. At this point my lower back on my belt line began to have fits and even subtle movement shot spikes of pain. I called it good for a while and went inside to sit and rest.

IMG_20220425_102859.jpg

After taking R too school then picking both boys up in the afternoon I headed back out was able to get the cucumber fence put up the rest of the way. I grabbed another small roll of field fence and cut the garbage end off before cutting the length I needed and fixing the pieces together.

IMG_20220425_144141.jpg

The 2 fenced rows are ready to go now. The cucumbers will be seeds and the tomatoes will be starts. Between the two rows I am going to try and get Basil to grow. It has been a few years since I have grown any.

IMG_20220425_144423.jpg

My afternoon was spent trying to find comfortable positions to sit in. Standing was rather painful and even sitting got to hurting. I ended up soaking for a while but was in bed before 9pm, still sore.

IMG_20220425_201641.jpg

The rain moved in over night and gave us .37 inches and is almost done for the day. My tiller DOES deliver today, once it stops raining I will try to get some rows seeded, try to be gentle on my aching back, and the sheep need another bale after the rain stops.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get RBN

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center