What's Up! From the ecoTrain Community on Hive

whatsup19.jpg

What's Up Hivers! It has been another abundant week for many of you who have posted to the ecoTrain community, with many posts receiving $10-65 up-votes from our supporters... and especially with the support of OCD and their community support initiative. I'm very happy to see a few eco building posts this week. Big up to @ecoinstant and @stortebeker for sharing their earthship and earthbag builds. Both are hard work, but the rewards will come and last a lifetime! We also have some great videos this week... if you haven’t met @ultravioletmag yet, she's sharing a lot of great inner process work which is very good to see. A HUGE welcome back to @celestialcow, its been so long! And of course we have a great selection of other posts from our community this week. Many of us are now posting in multiple languages, i think i may need to learn Spanish soon!

If you didn't know, OCD are now partnering with several communities on Hive to help to decentralise our communities and reward posts in niche communities that don't have many up-votes or support. This is a very special initiative and shows how Hive and the decentralised model is so very different to centralised capitalism. A normal capitalist attitude would consider having one popular community, and holding a huge amount of VP to be a great success.. but on Hive it is not what we want, and it is VERY good to see our witnesses such as @acidyo doing what they can to keep things decentralised. Click here for more info.

So to all of you who are either new to Hive, or post good content that is rarely noticed or rewarded.. now is a GREAT time to post to the ecoTrain community and start getting the kind of rewards your posts deserve.

This week I would like to share a few posts that have received our combined support, and touch on some of the subjects that ecoTrain support. These topics include:

"Sustainability, ecoVillages, Community, Self-sufficiency, Off-grid Living, Homesteading, Permaculture, Alternative Energy, Alternative Lifestyle, Natural Health, Cooking, Eco-Building, Earthships, Recycling, Esoteric, Inner Transformation, Spiritual, Nature"

SO thank you again to all who post to the ecoTrain community. You make it what it is, and your posts will live forever on the blockchain to inspire and help us all. If you do post regularly and receive good upvotes PLEASE PLEASE consider sending a bit of delegation to @ecotrain! WE can barely keep up with the curating and really appreciate your support, which comes right back at you 100 fold!

Much love and see you for the next Question Of The Week which comes out tomorrow.

 

@stortebeker

Pounding Tires in Southern Cali

Okay, I know, I could not help myself, I just had to do it: pack some more tires with dirt, so I could write a post about it. And why not, right? Gotta get my kicks some way... However, the more interesting question remains: WHY??? How did this happen? And is there a story behind it all?


A Story Yet to Be Told

It's no easy to explain how I got here onto this property on the edge of the country, literally a stone's throw from the infamous border fence. It is somehow connected to the Subaru Driving Adventure back in June, as well as to some fabulous and amazing plans I'm dreaming up with some friends in Los Angeles. The latter might in fact turn into something truly spectacular, so don't despair if you feel I've abandoned posting on Hive. If things go well, all this should be caught up on with some audiovisual treats. Until then... here is this benign post about tires.

@ecoinstant

EcoDome Progress Days 5 through 7 - Run, Roof, Rain!

We sure are getting close to culminating our work on the EcoDome. Using Earthbag technique, known locally as 'Super Adobe', you can checkout our last updates here and here. Here's where we last left off:

We had installed the mezzanine floor joists, and made several lines of progress. But one thing that was beginning to complicate things was the low roof. I was hitting my head and finally we needed to 'raise the roof'.

Continuous work, when possible, also comes with the drawback of ignoring other priorities. Last week, the weather took a turn for the worse, and one of our workers had his roof collapse in the night. We recorded over 200 millimeters of rain, more than 8 inches of rain over the last week, headed by one storm of 4 and a half inches in one night.

@samstonehill

Educating Esteban. Or is he educating me?

There are so many aspects to education it's really more about living life in a fun way which permits creative growth into unexplored fields. When it comes to children it is important they have the freedom to choose their subject and settle for as long as they like upon the things which resonate with them.

The image you can see above was my part of my first photoshop lesson with him. The lesson was brief before he became frustrated with the complexity of the program but now at least he knows what is possible.

Even this game we bought him at Christmas has been amazing at helping him develop patience & persistence. Which as we all know, is a rater important part of life.


@solominer

Summer Garden Update: Cherry shrubs

Last we checked on these Bush Cherries they were a little stressed out. I had just put them in the ground early spring, so during that time they were not adjusted yet. Though in the last few months they have put on some new growth. A few inches have formed and seems to be doing okay.

A question still remains, do I have two Cherry shrubs. Looking at the two they have different stem structures and the color is a little different as well. I am curious to see when the other one flowers what they look like. I ordered two Hansen Bush Cherries from Starkbros. So maybe there was a mistake and I was shipped two different plants. Or maybe two kinds of Bush Cherries.

@ultravioletmag

ODD BOX

I decided to give odd box a try. This was £20 pretty much without the raspberries chillies and parsley which were an add on. I’m impressed by the variety as I was hoping it wouldn’t all be potatoes and apples. This was the family of 4-5 option which, is kind of scary as I feel it might be ok for the week with a lot of add ons like the salad stuff would be gone in a day or two! Do families really eat this little veg and fruit this would last them a week? But pretty happy with this as a nice add on weekly box. I think it’s rly good value and love the idea behind the company and their delivery is really good. The ethos of the company is that they collect up all the odd looking and surplus veg from farmers that the perfectionist super markets don''t want so it doesn't go to waste. It is amazing how much fruit and veg gets wasted just because it doesn't quite look perfect.

Lilith was looking hopefully at it but was bitterly disappointed lol

@queenart

My Watercolor Painting - Sri Krishna (Challenged by my Aunt)

Hello Friends,
I seriously appologize for not being regular on Hive. (I have my regular online classes going on and it is pretty difficult for me to manage everything.) Also due to low RC I could not ve active much.

Anyhow this sunday, I took out time to do some watercolour painting. It was a challenge thrown by my aunt to make a Krishna paiting, abd I tried my best to make it of my own. I made use of

  • water color
  • sheet of paper

As usual, I have uploaded my Video on Youtube channel as well.

@sajannair

The Yoga Dairies - The four types of Yoga. Which one is for you ?

Nirvana, Realization, Liberation, Salvation, Enlightenment, Awakening and Being-One-With-Everything etc. many a word has been used to describe that mystical state to which many humans have ascended to time to time across cultures. It is supposedly the culmination of an energy body’s journey through the universe. As a state it is very difficult to describe, it’s like explaining the concept of 4th dimension sitting here in 3rd dimension. We can perhaps create an abstract model to feed our minds but we cannot explain it experientially. It happens when the ego (SENSE OF ‘I’) or individuality dissolves completely.

However, what can be understood and then explained is the “path” to liberation. Yoga has been since time memorial a well-studied path. A system of science that deals with the cosmos in a very different way. This is mysticism.

It differs from ‘science’ which relies on “external experimentation and validation” and instead operates from a premise of ‘experiential knowledge’. While the world sees many religions and practises, Yoga simply sees energy and any division in the syllabi is made on the basis of the kind of energy used to push the spiritual journey of the practitioner.

@samstonehill

Getting organised with our future food forest & polytunnel coming soon🌱

When they germinate in the spring (after a required cold period) I will separate them and add to our growing future food forest which already consists of apples, pears, lemons & clementines. Still need to plant almonds, oranges, pomegranates, figs & avocados. All of these plants will remain in pots, so that when we find the land we are looking for, we will be able to bring all this variety with us 🌱

With the days getting noticeably shorter now I've been looking at polytunnels to extend our growing season into winter and am excited to see how cheap they are! Don't know why but I was anticipating at least €500.

The temperate can get crazy high here in the summer so I'm thinking to perhaps get this one, which permits me to roll the sides right up for the best ventilation.

@dwiitavita

Vegan - Vegetarian Are Different?

Vegan Lifestyle - Vegetarianism is becoming a popular healthy lifestyle which many people are following these days. However, some people (including myself) still don't really understand the difference between vegan and vegetarian. Today I learned a lot, what is vegan and what is vegetarian. I think both of them are the same, only the different terms are called. It turns out that there are parts that distinguish the two terms. Let's together ... We learn.

My Story About Vegetarians in Taiwan

Taiwan has the largest percentage of vegetarian population in Asia, reaching ± 12%. Cultural backgrounds such as Hakka, Hokkien and Buddhism, which advocate becoming vegetarian. As well as a campaign supported by the local government, namely "one day vegetarian every week".

I live in Taiwan almost 7 years. Many adherents to a vegetarian lifestyle here because the majority of the population is Buddhist. Vegetarian restaurants are also very easy to find. I never thought that vegetarian food would be delicious than non-vegetarian food and its many varieties. Previously I only thought that vegetarian food was boring, only dealing with vegetable to vegetable, green and green again, it turned out that my expectations were wrong.

@steemflow

Chappan Bhog (56 Food Delicies)

Recently, my sister offered 56 different food delicies to Lord Krishna. It was on the 6th day after the auspicious occassion of Krishna Janamashtami, that the offering was made. Can you imagine 56 different deilicies cooked at home and offered. Take a look and if possible count it, till you get tired.

You might be wondering, why 56 food item?? so let me tell you there is an interesting story behind. But before I proceed, let me share a small glimpse of faith,trust, devotion and importance of Krishna Janamashtami to Indian. The day when 8th incarnation of Lord Vishnu Born. The follower and devotee, just make everything nice for worshipping Lord Krishna and make special costumes arrangement to dress the lord.

 

@celestialcow

How foraging for wild edibles can heal your Mind, Body & Soul

Foraging is a natural & innate human behavior that we are already programmed with for our survival, at the same time its a skill that must be taught properly; to be sure you are identifying plants correctly and also picking respectfully, the activity itself becomes extremely rewarding, helps you to reconnect with nature, walking outside breathing the fresh air and exercising the body, at the same time coming home with something delicious to make for meal times.

There were times I felt like I was in an extremely low place and foraging for wild edibles really lifted me up, it gave me a reason to get outside and I would always feel a lot better afterwards.

Not only that but since I became much more aware about where conventional food comes from, the amount of pesticides and fertilizers being used, and how far food was being shipped around the world and the effect this has on biodiversity and the environment, I wanted to have more local options but didn't have a garden to grow my own, I was forced to forage.

 

@ultravioletmag

New manifesting techniques I have been trying

@steevc

August garden update

We have been having a very mixed summer here in the UK with both very hot and fairly cold weather as well as some high winds. I am just wondering if I need to water tonight as it feels like it will rain.

Our tomatoes have done well this year even though I did not really stake them well enough. They have grown a bit out of control, but there are plenty of fruit on there. I have picked a few small yellow ones. Just need these big ones to ripen.

The recent rain seems to have done the raspberries a lot of good. I am able to pick a handful every couple of days. I cut the plants right down at the end of the season and they come back strong.

@zeesh

Focus on improving your mental health!

Mental health- this never caught our attention that much. But we all may approve that mental health is what keeps us running. Maybe the social norm, maybe our lack of knowledge or simply our ignorance leads us to be more ignorant towards focusing on improving our mental health.

But it's easily understandable why we need to do that, right? If you are still clueless about how you can take care of your mental health then take a look below. Maybe these tips gonna help you!

  • Maintain a healthy relationship. It can be your family, friends, co-workers or even your neighbor; whatever it is, always try to maintain a healthy relationship. It will reduce most of your tension, stress, and anxiety from your life.

  • Maintain a healthy lifestyle. Less bad habits and more good habits can change your life for the better. Exercising, eating healthy, meditating, less alcohol, positive thinking everything adds up to improve our mental health.


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **
** Click Here To View Our Blog Page **

 

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

 

 

 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency