Getting Creative by Making my own Vegan Spread (basic recipe)

IMG_20201212_121904.jpg


In Germany, vegan spreads are quite expensive. Like everything, that claims to be vegan and bio and natural ^^
And for the longest time I wanted to make one myself!

Fortunately now that I'm house-sitting this beautiful homestead in Bulgaria, I have access to a kitchen and a blender again, so I decided to give it a try.
And found out that it's incredibly easy!

And I can do it just by intuition, which is great, because I'm not very good in following recipes ^^


IMG_20201212_110706.jpg


You only need something as a base, like peas, beans or, in my particular case, lentils. I've also used pumpkin once, which I had cut and put in the oven for a while, together with a bit of oil and spices.

Then you can add whatever you like and what feels good!
For the spread based on lentils, I also boiled some carrots, and added spring onion and ginger.

Then I just blended it and spiced it with salt, pepper, a little bit of curry, and a lot of fresh lemon juice. I think I've also put in some chili flakes as well.

When I decide that it tastes good enough, I maybe blend it again, or it goes straight into the jars.


IMG_20201212_110514.jpg


It's best to sterilize the jars first, so the spread lasts longer.
Also you can put the filled and closed glasses for 10 minutes in boiling water. This way the spread can stay in storage for weeks, even months.

I did it the simple way, to be honest.
I just cleaned my two big jars, and one went directly into the fridge. We like the spread so much, that I know, it won't last long anyway ^^
The other one went into the freezer, and when the first jar is empty I can get it out and let it defrost over night.

You can get incredibly creative making your own spreads!
Of course there are thousands of awesome recipes on the internet, as well, which can be a great source of inspiration.
They also don't have to be vegan, of course! I found very interesting recipes for spreads with cheese, for example.

I'm definitely gonna try some more different varieties during the winter.
I want to make the most of temporarily having a proper kitchen with a blender :-)


IMG_20201212_122311.jpg

all pictures by me
(the last one showes my latest tasty homemade bread <3 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center