An abundance of apples | Processing them as filling for pie and cookies [No sugar added]


preserved Apple filling.png

A few days ago, I received a bag full of apples

My friends got them from a family member and they already had their fridge and freezer filled up with delicious apple recipes, so these were passed on to me. I was wondering how I'm going to use them all without wasting any of them. I don't like forced baking so I tried looking for another solution to preserve the apples for another time.

IMG_20201212_153104.jpg

I wondered if I could somehow preserve an apple filling

So that I could bake an apple pie or other cookies later when I felt like it. I found several recipes and ways to do so and I decided to go for a simplified method and also leave out the normally added sugar. My boyfriend is currently very strict with his (non) sugar intake and I wanted him to be able to try it as well when I bake something using this filling.

I only used about half of the apples

Because they were quite small and took a while to process. I thought that maybe in a few days, I'd feel like baking something different so this would also give me the option to use the apples in bigger pieces in another recipe.

For this batch, I cut them into very small parts and decided to make a sort of compote using apples and cinnamon only. You can add all sorts of ingredients to add more flavor but as this was the first time trying this out, I wanted to keep it as natural as possible and form an opinion first. We both love cinnamon so let's try this.

I used a small pan to cook the apples mixed with cinnamon until they turned soft. I didn't know exactly how long this should take, so I took the pan off the heat several times and tried to mush the apples. I stopped doing so before it turned into an apple sauce as that was not my intention with this batch.

After they had cooled down, I put the compote in two glass bottles and I read they are good to use for about a week from processing them. This will give me some extra time to decide what I want to bake with this compote.

IMG_20201212_192047.jpg

IMG_20201212_192059.jpg

Total time spent was about 45 minutes, from which only 15 to 20 spent on the actual processing, and the rest on the preparation.

I will soon bake some (hopefully) delicious snacks with this compote.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center