Too Good To Go: The App Too Good To Forget

Now I am running out of many things. Excuses find themselves in ample abundance, unfortunately. I mean, I'm almost out of Banoreoz Flower, which I still haven't reviewed. I'm running out of space on my second hard drive. That's the plight of a digital hoarder. Really, I'm out of money to spend on food or wasting food rather.

Writers love to exaggerate, but this isn't so hyperbolic. It doesn't take an economist to tell prices are high. So I found myself a neater app than TikTok or Pinterest, aimed at one of the most sustainable private ventures I've seen before.

IMG_0043.jpg

Food Waste

The premise of Too Good To Go sounds so fitting, you're surprised it hasn't been done before. Restaurants don't sell everything they make, with staggering figures going to landfills each year. Take Quentin's article with your next meal. Instead of disposing of it, frugal economists like you and I can secure "surprise bags" for a discounted price. Food goes to hungry people for less, restaurants enjoy more business and new customers, and less goes to waste!

Of course, it's not a fairy tale world we live in. Someone pays the piper. You don't know what you're gonna get, and Quentin isn't charmed by the astute observations of Forrest Gump. Still, today's surprise bag was my first ever. It stunned in the most unexpected away.

Bang For The Buck

The smell of flowers in the air keeps me candid. I got four pounds of food for about $14. I have a picture of the meal, because who doesn't love social proof, but the numbers didn't make the digital this time. Carlos, did however, secure a return customer. The real pity is that I didn't have a menu of what I got.

I watched him fill my plate as he and I exchanged some words on the app. Apparently, this is bigger in Europe. I wonder if any of my readers outside the States use apps like this. New York came up, of course, but I couldn't help but wonder.

Did Boston have its own pioneers giving away goods on the low before close? My siblings and mother have been to a couple Dunkin' Donuts that wouldn't sell them the day's old donuts, though. They throw 'em away, just like that.

IMG_0040.jpg

There were plantains and peas, carrots, corn and onion, lamb and sausage, rice and black beans. Who knows about Brazilian cuisine?

Dinner On A Dollar

I'm pleased. I have some food for nights, which works since we didn't buy groceries this past weekend. Business done this will deserves more notice. I'm doing my part, with this and getting by another day. The hunt for information feeds the hunger for more- just don't let the game eat up your pockets. There's your tip.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center