[KNIVES UP!!!] Chef Straykat Cooks No.10: Savory Pork & Beans with Tofu




Welcome to Chef Straykat Cooks! Where I cook whatever comes to mind with whatever ingredients available! Sounds like disaster, isn't it? No, no, no! This recipe was tested and tasted by no less than the chef's exquisite palate! Lol!šŸ«°šŸ»



I have recently watched a documentary on Netflix about foods that may aide in life longevity and it inspired me to add some of it on my menu. One that I will be sharing with you on this post is beans.

Beans is a plant-based food and packed with lots of nutrients that will help keep your body healthy. I didn't like eating beans when I was young until just a few years ago because of its texture and bland taste. I didn't even like the beans on the Halo-Halo dessert when I was in my teens, but I learned to like it and it's now one of my favorite ingredients. And just after watching the documentary, "Live to 100: Secrets of the Blue Zones", I finally gave beans a chance to be part of my diet. The people in this documentary is just so inspiring.




~ SAVORY PORK & BEANS WITH TOFU ~



1000013258.jpg

I didn't like eating beans in tomato sauce alone so I added other ingredients. I find tofu a great pair for beans. The crunchy and soft texture blends well with the mushy texture of beans. :)

This recipe was made based on my craving. You know, when you think of a meal and imagine what ingredients would taste good in it. It's very simple to make!


INGREDIENTS

ā€¢ 390g Baked Beans in Tomato Sauce
ā€¢ Tofu (diced)
ā€¢ 1 Cut of Pork Chop (sliced)
ā€¢ 2 Eggs
ā€¢ Yardlong Beans
ā€¢ 1/3 to 1/2 Cup of Grated Cheddar Cheese
ā€¢ Ground Black Pepper
ā€¢ Dried Parsley Leaves
ā€¢ Cooking Oil



PROCEDURE


(1) Pour some oil on pan and fry the slices of tofu. Set aside. You can drain the oil on tofu by placing it on a kitchen towel.



1000013266.jpg

(2) Fry the slices of pork chop next and set aside as well. I noticed that the meat shrank after frying so maybe you can add another cut of pork chop if you want more pork in your meal.



1000013265.jpg

(3) Keep the pork's oil and use it to scramble the eggs.



1000013264.jpg

(4) Add the beans in tomato sauce on the scrambled eggs. Mix.


1000013263.jpg


(5) Then add the string beans. I didn't have the yardlong beans as it wasn't available on the grocery when I went there but I was able to get French beans. It's thin but it's better than nothing.

Also add the grated cheese. I believe it's the cheese that makes this dish extra flavorful. You can definitely add more cheese if you want it more cheesier!



1000013262.jpg

(6) Add some ground black pepper to taste.



1000013261.jpg

(7) Put in the fried pork chop and mix.



1000013260.jpg

(8) Last, add the fried tofu and mix until tofu is completely covered with the mixture. It is important to use a bigger pot so you can easily mix the ingredients. In my case, I was lazy to use another pot so I prayed that everything would fit into my pan. I was very careful mixing it so no tofu would spill out.



1000013259.jpg

(9) And for the final touch, sprinkle some dried parsley leaves for an enticing appearance.


1000013267.jpg


SERVE AND ENJOY!!!


1000013257.jpg

See how simple it is to make? I know enjoy eating beans because its texture now complements well with the tofu. Next time, I would try to replace the pork with beef. I think this dish would also taste good with beef. I also want to add corn kernels. Thinking of this makes me hungry especially that I still haven't eaten dinner. Lol. This dish will certainly be a regular on my menu.

This recipe makes about 4 to 5 servings. Good for sharing or all for yourself! It's great to have meals ready on your next couple of meals. It saves time and energy. Anyway, the ingredients used are also not that expensive so it's also a good dish to make when you're on a budget. :)

Until the next recipe! ā™”ā™”ā™”






šŸ‘©šŸ»ā€šŸ³šŸ‘©šŸ»ā€šŸ³šŸ‘©šŸ»ā€šŸ³
Chef Straykat has an experience of more than two years in her family's kitchen. Her goal is to deliciously cook whatever dish crosses her mind; to cook fast and without using measuring tools because that's how chefs do it.
In short, Straykat is a self-proclaimed chef. xoxo šŸ¤ŒāœØļø

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center