Little Old Ladies at the Corner 馃崵 El Rinc贸n

When in Ecuador...

image.png

This is an old favorite place to eat home cooking by a couple of little old ladies from Ecuador.

This is one of the cooks, her portrait drawn and painted on the front window. The place is located a couple of doors east of 9 de Julio on Moreno in downtown Buenos Aires.

When you go in, you are effectively in Ecuador for all intents and purposes. There is praise and worship on the television set. The waitress comes up and tells you what is in the kitchen. I ordered ceviche, a cold soup containing shrimp, onion, tomato, and chives in a red sauce made of mostly lemon juice. Then there is the generous side of hot rice.

Drink options are juice, juice, juice or juice. That is the norm in Ecuador.

image.png

These are patocones, they look like sliced bananas but they are actually sliced plantains, deep fried and served with wicked hot spicy slurry - YUM.

image.png

I got them for my as an appetizer upon arrival.

The place is down home cooking. It used to be open only on Sundays or Holidays. I rode past it after stopping to see @pdc and it was open! A very nice surprise - I will have to keep it in mind that they are open every day except Mondays now.

image.png

A look around. You are greeted with a bandera ecuatoriana and mannequins wearing the country's traditional garb.

image.png

Toward the back, near the kitchen, you will find a well worn couch and a more worn out TV with the soap operas playing. Yes the lady has a blue forehead and pink neck and chin! I had not seen this aspect of the diner the last time I was here. They may have consolidated their two restaurants into one. You know, the covid scam shutting everything down on us.

image.png

And here we have the larger part of the dining room, where I was sitting and tapping my foot to Spanish praise and worship. The screen says, "Praise that changes your sadness into joy."

I ate till I was full for about six bucks. I was the only states of unitedian in the whole place and everyone else was from Ecuador. My last girlfriend brought me here. It is cheaper than a plane ticket to another country! If there were a beach out back, it would be better than traveling there.

Past Reviews of Great Food Places

Russian Eat - Ermak
DeNiro's Steak Burbers
Trixie American Diner
Gibraltar & Co.
The Taco Factory
Don Us Donuts
Sushi Boom
Sushi San Telmo
Magic Donut
Spiga - Pizza and Pasta
Che Taco Revisited (every week)
Mi Sue帽o
Emviar
Che Taco
Hardrock Cafe

spbobFooter.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center