RED OIL JOLLOF RICE

In my post few days ago, i mentioned that my hubby likes stewed rice very much. He likes it more when i cook rice with red oil. To make him happy i bought other ingredients to make it tasty, yummy and delicious.

Ingredients
I went to market as usual to get what i need for the cooking. I bought our local nigerian rice. It is cheaper and tasty. Cooking red oil jollof rice is easy as far as everything needed is ready.

For a tasteful red oil jollof rice, the ingredients includes pepper, (it can be fresh or dry one) salt, maggi, crayfish and fresh 🍅 tomatoes, red oil, etc.

At the market where i bought the stuffs i need.

After washing and boiling my rice, i will put it on fire. Slicing fresh tomatoes is another step. I will then cut my onions, green beans, 🥕 carrots together with green pepper. I will cut scent leaf into tiny pieces. It gives nice and sweet aroma in cooking this type of jollof rice.


Sliced carrots and green beans together with green pepper.


Scent leaf and onions.

Meat or stockfish
I usually use stockfish, sometimes smokefish with kpomo (kanda as some calls it in their language) along with dry fish. You may choose to use meat, but as for me i use stockfish because of the taste it gives. I will cut it into smaller parts and boil.


My stock fish and dryfish. I will then pound ginger and garlic and mix them together in the pot and cook for about one hour. Before that one hour, all the ingredients will be soft ready to be used.


Ginger and garlic.


Crayfish


I use these spices to add to the aroma. One is tomatoe - stew seasoning, 🍤 shrimp flavour and chiken flavour seasonings.

Maggi and dry pepper.

My pot of red oil stew
My stew is ready as well as my rice.

Now everything is ready. I will mix, pour and stir together all the above-mentioned ingredients on the already prepared pot of stew. I sometimes add a little vegetables on the stockfish.

The results?
See the pictures below to see my red oil jollof rice. Try yours NOW!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center