ALAS by Hermanos Torres 📍Barcelona Airport [Eng][Esp]

IMG_3248.jpeg

ALAS
Spanish food by Torres brothers
T1 - El Prat Airport. Barcelona, Spain


Today we're eating at the airport! oh yes, but not in the way you'd think, no sandwiches or pastries to go, no frozen or unreliable quality food either. Today we eat at one of the restaurants owned by the Torres Brothers, the twin chefs who run a three Michelin star restaurant in Barcelona (no, it's not the one at the airport) and who are well known for their frequent TV appearances.

Despite their great success, it is very common for these chefs to open restaurants more accessible to all kinds of diners, where tasting the quality of their cuisine, with closer elements and prices within everyone's reach, is an ordinary experience, different from the odyssey of trying to book a Michelin restaurant, as can be, of course, those days of long waits at the airport.

I've been looking forward to visit this place for a long time, I was very excited about the idea of having an alternative like this inside the airport, where many times I prefer not to eat, rather than pay a lot for a possible disappointment that is not worth the price. It is something so recurrent and there are few places to enjoy good food inside an airport that I don't think it's worth trying, and I honestly don't like to carry snacks and food everywhere I go.

So despite of my automatic mode in which I disconnect when traveling, not worrying about eating or many other things until I get to my destination, I remembered that I had a pending visit to this restaurant during my last trip through the Barcelona airport. I hadn't been able to go before due to my tight itinerary, I usually travel very late at night or too early in the morning, so until now I had not been able to consider this restaurant as an option in my stopovers.

[Esp]

¡Hoy comemos en el aeropuerto! oh sí, pero no de la forma en que uno creería, nada de sandwiches o pasteles para llevar, ni tampoco comida congelada o de calidad poco fiable. Hoy comemos en uno de los restaurantes de los Hermanos Torres, los chef gemelos que llevan un restaurante de tres estrellas Michelin en Barcelona (no, no es el del aeropuerto) y que son muy conocidos por sus continuas apariciones en televisión.

A pesar de su gran éxito, es muy común que estos chef abran restaurantes más accesible a todo tipo de comensales, en donde probar la calidad de su cocina, con elementos mas cercanos y precios al alcance de todos, sea una una experiencia corriente, diferente a la odisea de intentar reservar en un restaurante Michelin, como lo pueden ser, por supuesto, esos días de largas esperas en el aeropuerto.

Hace mucho tiempo que tenía ganas de pasarme por este local, me entusiasmaba mucho la idea de contar con una opción así dentro del aeropuerto, en donde muchísimas veces prefiero simplemente no comer, a pagar mucho por una posible decepción que no vale su precio. Es que es algo tan recurrente y son contados los lugares en los que disfrutar de buena comida dentro de un aeropuerto que no creo que valga la pena intentarlo, y yo, sinceramente, no soy de estar cargando snacks y comida para todos lados.

Así que a pesar del modo automático en el que desconecto cuando estoy de viaje, sin me preocuparme por comer ni muchas otras cosas hasta llegar a mi destino, recordé que tenía una visita pendiente a este restaurante durante mi último viaje a través del aeropuerto de Barcelona. No había podido acudir antes porque debido a mi ajustado itinerario, suelo viajar muy tarde en la noche o demasiado temprano en la mañana, por lo que hasta ahora no había podido contemplar esta propuesta como una opción dentro de mis escalas.


IMG_2214.jpeg

IMG_2216.jpeg


IMG_3237.jpeg

However, this time I found myself at the Barcelona airport at about 3 pm, a very appropriate time to get lunch in Spain, so after passing by several fast food places, I started looking for this restaurant.

It took me a while to locate it because the gps on my phone was not working very well inside the airport and because my memories of the only time I had passed by the place, before its opening, were very vague. Is located in the waiting area inside Terminal 1 of Barcelona's airport, in El Prat de Llobregat.

I had started traveling in the morning and was still halfway home, so it seemed like a good idea to take some time to stop, rest and enjoy a good meal before continuing the trip.

Hey! something very important to note, this is not a review of a place to go looking for the best low cost food offer at the airport, I warn from the beginning that the prices are not for thrifty travel plans or to get out of the way.

This place is rather a spot in the airport where you can indulge yourself with pleasure, if what you like is to enjoy good food, quality service and haute cuisine. Be warned.

[Esp]

Sin embargo, esta vez me encontré en el aeropuerto de Barcelona a eso de las 15h, una hora muy correcta para conseguir un almuerzo en España, así que luego de pasar por varios locales de comida rápida, me embarqué en la búsqueda de este restaurante.

Me constó un poco localizarlo porque el gps de mi teléfono no funcionaba muy bien dentro del aeropuerto y porque los recuerdos de la única vez que había pasado por el local, antes de su inauguración, eran muy vagos. Está ubicado en la sala de espera dentro de la Terminal 1 del aeropuerto de Barcelona, en El Prat de Llobregat.

Había comenzado a viajar en la mañana y aún estaba a mitad de camino hasta llegar a casa, así que me pareció buena idea tomarme un rato para parar, descansar y disfrutar de una buena comida antes de continuar con el viaje.

¡Eh! algo muy importante que acotar, esto no es una reseña de un lugar al que acudir buscando la mejor oferta de comida a bajo coste en el aeropuerto, advierto desde el comienzo que los precios no son para planes de viaje ahorrativos o para salir del paso.

Este lugar mas bien es un rincón del aeropuerto en donde darse un capricho con gusto, si lo que te gusta es disfrutar de buena comida, la atención de calidad y de alta cocina. Advertidos están.


IMG_3235.jpegIMG_3236.jpeg

IMG_3240.jpeg

IMG_3239.jpeg


Anyway, the place is quite striking and spacious. They also have the entire menu displayed in detail at the entrance, with prices and the name of each dish, something that quickly caught my attention, since “homemade”, “low temperature” or “matured” are things that tempt me a lot.

The most interesting and attractive thing about the place is that its kitchen is open, it is located in the center of the establishment, surrounded by the bar, so if you prefer to sit there you can easily follow how each dish is prepared. Although this idea was very tempting, I was very tired and didn't want to think too much, besides the chairs at the tables were quite comfy, so I decided to postpone my curiosity for another visit.

Despite the appealing name of some of the dishes, I decided to take it easy, because keeping on traveling with an overly full stomach was not really the plan. I took my time to go over everything and decided to take some photos of the menu that a kind waiter gave me as he placed me at a table.

According to what I asked for, the photos are pretty faithful to the dishes on the menu, so it's not a typical tourist trap, I think that being in the airport is something that can actually help many people to get an idea of what they are ordering.

[Esp]

En fin, el lugar es bastante llamativo y amplio. Además tienen expuesto en la entrada toda la carta en detalle, con sus precios y el nombre de cada plato, algo que rápidamente robó mi atención, es que leer “casero”, “baja temperatura” o “madurado” son cosas que me tientan mucho.

Lo más interesante y atractivo del lugar es que su cocina es abierta, está ubicada en el centro del establecimiento, rodeada de la barra, así que si prefieres sentarte allí puedes seguir fácilmente la forma de preparar cada plato. A pesar de que era muy llamativa esta idea, yo estaba muy cansada y con ganas de no pensar mucho, además las sillas en las mesas eran muy cómodas, así que decidí aplazar mi curiosidad para una próxima visita.

A pesar del llamativo nombre de algunos platos, decidí tomarme las cosas con calma, porque seguir viajando con el estomago demasiado lleno no era el plan. Me tomé mi tiempo para repasarlo todo y decidí hacer unas fotos de la carta que un amable camarero me dio al ubicarme en una mesa.

Según lo que yo pedí, las fotos son bastante fieles a los platos de la carta, por lo que no es una típica trampa para turistas, creo que estando en el aeropuerto es algo que puede ayudar a muchas personas a tener una idea de lo que están pidiendo.


IMG_3238.jpeg

IMG_3241.jpegIMG_3242.jpegIMG_3243.jpeg


Croquetas de cecina de León "de la abuela"

IMG_3253.jpeg

IMG_3254.jpegIMG_3256.jpeg


As a starter I went for the basics, besides croquettes in Spain are an interesting way to check the quality of the products and to some point, the techniques. Not all croquettes are made with a bechamel sauce infused with the flavor of the broth of the main ingredient in their filling, and often the breading is separated from the filling, or they end up being soaked in oil, there are many things that can go wrong with a simple croquettes, so from these you can get a good idea of how the kitchen works.

The smoked cured beef croquettes, defended the starters section of the menu very well. I can't remember the last time I tasted such creamy croquettes, with a fairly fluid bechamel sauce but loaded with flavor. It had abundant pieces of cecina de León, that cured beef in the form of ham that is so famous in those lands and the outside was delicately crispy without excess oil. A very good frying and an abundant portion, more for sharing than for one person, but as I was only going to order a main course, I didn't feel so guilty.

Good, very good, very very good croquettes.

[Esp]

Como entrante me fui por lo básico, además que las croquetas en España son una interesante forma de comprobar la calidad de los productos y hasta cierto punto, las técnicas. No todas las croquetas son elaboradas con una salsa bechamel cargada del sabor del caldo del elemento principal en su relleno, además muchas veces el empanado suele separarse del relleno, o terminan estando empapadas de aceite, hay muchas cosas que pueden salir mal con unas simples croquetas, así que de estas se puede obtener una buena idea de como funciona la cocina.

Las smoked cured beef croquettes, defendieron muy bien el apartado de entrantes de la carta. No recuerdo cuándo fue la ultima vez que probé unas croquetas tan cremosas, con una bechamel bastante fluida pero cargada de sabor. Tenía abundantes trozos de cecina de León, esa carne de vacuno curada en forma de jamón que es tan famosa en esas tierras y el exterior estaba delicadamente crujiente sin exceso de aceite. Una fritura muy buena y una ración abundante, mas para compartir que para una sola persona, pero como solo iba a pedirme un plato principal, no me sentí tan culpable.

Croquetas buenas, buenas, buenas.


IMG_3257.jpeg


Raviolis “Di Parmegiano” con salsa pomodorini

IMG_3250.jpeg

IMG_3251.jpegIMG_3258.jpeg


So, here I wanted to take a bit of a risk, it was the one thing that made me hesitate the most about the menu. I didn't want to choose such a heavy dish, and I really wanted to eat something that made me feel the comfort of home. Homemade stuffed pasta is something I grew up with and it's the reason I'm very careful about eating pasta away from home, it's very disappointing when it's not perfectly done.

However, I had a lot of faith in this restaurant and decided to give it a shot, I figured if it turned out to be a bad choice in the end, better to make it once and know if it would really be worth coming back to this place in the future. I also thought I would still have the wild card of dessert in case something went wrong.

Great choice. Lots of cheese, good sauce and plenty of filling. I don't know which of those three things surprised me the most, but overall I liked it all.

I was prepared for the worst and the truth is that I received something that corresponded perfectly with what was offered, no more and no less, a well made pasta, with a balanced sauce and correct portion, it was about 6 ravioli if I'm not mistaken, good size and with a good cooking point.

When I cut the first one I feared that it was not quite done, but then I could see that it was only the contrast between the sauce and the dough that gave me that impression, to taste it was very good.

[Esp]

Bueno, aquí quise arriesgarme un poco, fue lo que más me hizo dudar del menú. No quería elegir un plato tan pesado, y tenía muchas ganas de comer algo que me hiciera sentir el confort de casa. La pasta rellena casera es algo con lo que crecí y es el motivo por el que tengo mucho cuidado al comer pasta fuera de casa, es muy decepcionante cuando no está perfectamente hecha.

Sin embargo, yo tenía mucha fe en este restaurante y decidí arriesgarme, pensé que si al final resultaba ser una mala elección, mejor hacerla de una vez y saber si realmente valdría la pena volver a este lugar en un futuro. Además pensaba que aun tendría el comodín del postre por si algo salía mal.

Gran elección. Mucho queso, buena salsa y bastante relleno. No sé cual de esas tres cosas me sorprendió más, pero en conjunto me gustó todo.

Estaba preparada para lo peor y la verdad es que recibí algo que se corresponde perfectamente con lo ofrecido, ni más ni menos, una pasta bien hecha, con una salsa equilibrada y ración correcta, eran unos 6 ravioles si no me equivoco, de buen tamaño y con un buen punto de cocción.

Al cortar el primero temí que no estuviera del todo hecho, pero luego pude comprobar que era solo el contraste entre la salsa y la masa que me causó esa impresión, al gusto estaba muy bueno.


IMG_3260.jpeg


Texturas de Chocolate

IMG_3262.jpeg

IMG_3263.jpegIMG_3261.jpegIMG_3264.jpeg


I had no doubt about which dessert I would choose, whenever there is something that says “chocolate textures” it's always a hit. Little did I look at the other options, although when you are not a fan of dark chocolate it is a wise move to go for citrus flavors in places like this, I will probably try the mango and passion fruit one the next time I am traveling there.

I had no doubts about my choice and this one arrived as quickly as I asked the waiter for it. Mmm...wow, wow, very fast for what it is supposed to be. It doesn't take more than a glance to know that the dessert, unlike the food, is not assembled on the spot, but already prepared in the fridge. That, did detract a little, because the elaborations were a little firmer than I think they should have felt, it was not something terrible, but when you have tried many of these things you know that the temperature influences a lot.

It was also obvious from the water droplets that formed on the top chocolate layer. The whole thing tasted good, but I think that to enjoy the different textures better, it should have been left at room temperature for a while longer. I don't want to say that it was like a stone, it could be eaten, but it is something to improve.

The base, for example, seemed to me to be a crumble with cocoa nibs, which by itself I couldn't fully enjoy. Together with the rest it was very good, but I was surprised that I didn't feel so much flavor tasting it on its own. And I love cocoa nibs. I attribute that to the temperature as well.

I don't know, I think the desserts could be improved, I realize they don't have a full time pastry chef to prepare it instantly, but I think it would be more interesting to assemble the elements separately when serving and not put the whole thing in the fridge, the brownie and the base didn't need it, in my opinion.

[Esp]

No tenía duda alguna de cuál era el postre que elegiría, siempre que hay algo que dice “texturas de chocolate” suele ser todo un acierto. Poco miré las otras opciones, aunque cuando no eres muy fan del chocolate oscuro suele ser un acierto irse por los sabores cítricos en lugares así, probablemente intente probar el de mango y maracuyá la próxima vez que ande viajando por allí.

No tenía dudas de mi elección y este llegó tan rápido como se lo pedí al camarero. Mmm…vaya, vaya, muy rápido para lo que se supone que es. No hace falta mas que echar un vistazo para saber que el postre, a diferencia de la comida, no lo montan en el momento, sino que lo tienen ya preparado en la nevera. Eso, le restó un poco, pues las elaboraciones estaban un poco mas duras de lo que me parece deberían haberse sentido, no era algo grave, pero cuando ya has probado muchas cosas de estas sabes que la temperatura influye mucho.

Era muy obvio además por las gotitas de agua que se formaron en la lámina superior de chocolate. El conjunto estaba bueno de sabor, pero creo que para disfrutar más las texturas habría que haberlo dejado a temperatura ambiente un rato más. Tampoco quiero decir que estaba como una piedra, se podía comer, pero es algo que pudiese mejorar.

La base por ejemplo, me pareció que era un crumble con nibs de cacao, que por sí solo no pude disfrutar del todo. Junto al resto estaba muy bien, pero me sorprendió que no sintiera tanto tu sabor probándolo solo. Y a mí me encantan los nibs de cacao. Yo lo atribuyo también a la temperatura.

No sé, creo que lo de los postres es mejorable, entiendo que no tengan a un pastelero a tiempo completo que lo prepare al instante, pero me parece que sería mas interesante montar los elementos por separado al momento de servir y no poner todo el conjunto en la nevera, el brownie y la base no lo necesitaban, en mi opinión.


IMG_3265.jpeg


IMG_3266.jpeg

Total bill 40,00 € with a half liter of water, not cheap, I know, but for spending 20,00 € on a sandwich, I'd rather pay double for more than triple the quality.

As I mentioned at the beginning of the post, it is not a cheap option, it is a taste of Catalan haute cuisine within the Barcelona airport, a treat for those who want to eat well in those busy moments and who do not mind spending on food.

Mind you, it's worth it. The quality of the products is easy to perceive in every bite, although I was not entirely satisfied with the dessert, I am of the opinion that to form a real opinion of a restaurant you have to go several times. In haute cuisine restaurants, you pay so much because they guarantee that the quality will be guaranteed at any time, but in places like this, more unpretentious, there are many variables that affect.

I liked it enough to consider coming back, I'm looking forward to trying other dishes and seeing how the chef handles the open kitchen in a little more depth. I would also like to try another dessert and maybe ask the waiters about its preparation. I think that with respect and sincerity, you can always comment on these things.

Anyway, the meal gave me “wings” to continue on my way with more energy, even though I was much more full than I had expected. I really enjoyed finally eating here and I am sure that in a not too distant future I will come back here sharing some other dish from the low cost restaurant of the Torres Brothers at the airport. Until then, Bon appetit!

[Esp]

Cuenta total 40,00 € con una agüita de medio litro, nada barato, lo sé, pero para gastar 20,00€ en un bocadillo, prefiero pagar el doble por más que el triple de calidad.

Lo comenté al principio del post, no es una opción barata, es una probadita de la alta cocina catalana dentro del aeropuerto de Barcelona, un gusto para quien ansía comer bien en esos momentos ajetreados y a quien no le importa gastar en comida.

Eso sí, lo vale. La calidad de los productos es fácil de percibir en cada bocado, a pesar de que no estuve del todo satisfecha con el postre, yo soy de la opinión que para formarse una opinión real de un restaurante hay que acudir varias veces. En los restaurantes de alta cocina, se paga tanto porque te garantizan que la calidad estará garantizada en cualquier momento, pero en lugares como este, mas simples, hay muchas variables que influyen.

A mí me ha gustado lo suficiente como para considerar volver, tengo ganas de probar otros platos y ver cómo se maneja el chef en la cocina abierta con mas detalle. Además, de probar algún otro postre y quizá consultarle a los camareros sobre su preparación. Yo pienso que desde el respeto y la sinceridad, siempre se pueden comentar estas cosas.

En fin, la comida me dio “alas” para seguir mi camino con más energía, a pesar de que quedé mucho más llena de lo que había previsto. Me gustó mucho poder comer aquí finalmente y estoy segura de que en un futuro no muy lejano volveré por aquí comentando alguno que otro plato del local low cost de los Hermanos Torres en el aeropuerto. Hasta entonces ¡Buen provecho!


IMG_2218.jpeg



Thanks for dropping by!

| 11053969_x_logo_twitter_new_brand_icon.png | 1865606_books_ebooks_g_goodreads_read_icon copia.jpg

Proudly member of the curation team


Free Icons from: Iconfinder
Photo credits: All of the photos in this post
were taken by me with my Iphone 11 and belong to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center