Homemade Rum, Yogurt and Chocolate Chip Sponge Cake :p

Hey, Roaring Foodies!

How do you like your (coffee &) cake after a trying day?


A piece of aromatic sponge cake that is soft on the inside and slightly crunchy on the outside and has some chocolate in it can fix my day. I just need to brew coffee to go with it and I{m ready to enjoy this simple little treat while my little toes massage each other. Plus a good movie... Sure! 🙃


I'm using some of this Pampero Aniversario rum a friend left here to give this cake a sweet aroma and aftertaste. He'd die if he knew 😆




INGREDIENTS


  • 1 cup sugar
  • 100 gr margarine
  • 1/2 cup egg (about 2 eggs M)
  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla essence
  • 2 spoonfuls yogurt
  • 50 ml rum

  • Enough margarine to grease the baking pan
  • I used an 8" pyrex



THE PROCESS

First, mix the sugar and margarine until a little creamy.


You won't need to work too much.



Then add the eggs.



And mix well.

Now add the sifted flour.

And fold it until the mix turns homegeneous.


Add the nutmeg and vanilla essence...

...and the rum! 😁



Mix well. Two important ingredients still need to be added...



Add the yogurt.

I used 2 spoonfuls this time; I ususally add only one. The batter ass less thick this way, but it held the chocolate chips well anyway, and the cake was softer.

Time for chocolate chips 😋

I sliced a medium sized potato and most of the biug carrot. They were the additionals to the small pumpkin; I think they go so well together.




With the help of a spoon or pastry spoon and not so carefully, cover the chocolate chips with the mixture.


...And into the oven!

I baked this lovely smelling sponge cake in just 35 minutes, at 300° F.

The cake is not tall, which not only makes it rise well and bake in no time, but it also releases heat quickly once it comes out of the oven and you can quickly sink your teeth into it, hehe.

It has a nice color and slightly crunchy texture on the outside.

It was really soft on the inside.

Sometimes we are lazy or tired, but when you know how to do what you like the way you like it, it's well worth it to get down to work.


When my coffee finished brewing, the cake was still a little warm. This is my favorite combination after a long, hard day.



Bon appetite!

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center