Homemade Pizza with Unripe Plantain Crust (gluten-free) :p

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

I hope you're all doing great 😁

How do you like your pizza crust? I like mine crispy and rustic, sometimes really thin. But as I can't eat foods with wheat flour dough often, I must vary the recipe for the crust sometimes. This time I made it with unripe plantain and egg. This time, it's not a crispy crust, but it does have that rustic appearance and flavor many of us love--and can be made crispy if desired by getting it in the oven a second time--. We totally loved this one!


image.png

image.png

This one recipe was inspired by a time I've put pizza toppings on a cachapa with cheese, haha. Actually, both recipes have been good enough to repeat.

image.png

image.png

Ingredients

image.png

As you can tell by the title of this post, we're not making a dough but a batter. And this is going to be quick and simple, as we'll use little time and a blender.

image.png

For the crust:

  • 200 gr unripe plantain, peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 cup egg (1 egg M)
  • 4 tablespoons melted margarine
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar

If you want to make a crust that feels more like bread, you may want to take a look at this recipe of mine: Homemade Flourless Bread (also yeast-free).

And here's what I used as toppings:

  • leftover tomato sauce mixed with 1 tablespoon of tomato paste
  • 250 gr mozzarella cheese
  • julienned onion
  • julienned red bell pepper
  • kalamatas
  • corn kernels
  • freshly cracked black pepper
  • olive oil

image.png

Let's make plantain pizza crust!

Well, start by peeling and chopping an unripe plantain. This one I bought today weighed 250 grams and after peeling it, it weighed 200 grams.

image.png

Then put all the ingredients in the blender.

The egg and the melted margarine, which can be replaced by oil, are the liquid ingredients that will help the blender process the plantain. So no need to add water.

If the margarine you're using is not melted, you can melt it in a saucepan.

image.png

Add the salt.

image.png

The rest will be your blender's job.

I forgot to add the soda and vinegar, so I stopped the blender and added them.

image.png

It didn't make as many bubbles as I expected. I think this baking soda is not active anymore, but no biggie--not today.

After I added the soda and vinegar, I blended it again.

The mixture must be as homogeneous as possible. No lumps.

I used an 8" square pyrex to bake my pizza crust; this would guarantee I'd get a thicker crust to put all the toppings I had taken out from the fridge.

image.png

With a spoon, spread the mixture as evenly as possible to cover the entire base of the baking dish.

This went into my electric oven and baked for 30 minutes at 300 degrees F.

image.png

As it's usual with plantain dough, it cracked on the surface. As you can see, the crust is rather flexible; you can tell by such flexibility that it's soft enough and nice to chew. Now, if you get it again in the oven and let it toast, you can have a crispier result.

image.png

Time for Sauce, Cheese & Toppings!

I used frozen homemade pizza sauce I had in the freezer from this time I made Pizza with Pear Slices. I keep it raw, always. I decided to add some tomato paste because I needed a thicker sauce for this pizza.

image.png

Besides tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese, I had some interesting toppings: black olives, corn kernels, onion, red bell pepper, black pepper, olive oil, and leftover homemade baked pork (thinly sliced).

image.png

I assembled the pizza as usual. I spread enough tomato sauce on the crust and added mozzarella.

image.png

I julienned some onion and red bell pepper. The baked pork was already sliced and had been seasoned with salt, mustard, garlic, and can honey. I took 5 olives out of the jar and 2 tablespoons of corn kernels from the bag.

image.png

After I arranged all the toppings the best I could, I sprinkled freshly cracked black pepper and drizzled some olive oil.

image.png

That being done, the pizza was ready to into the oven.

image.png

As you can see, this one has a few toppings, but you can tell it's a lot since the surface area is small (the pyrex was 8 inches). Anyway, this pizza was enough for 2-4 people.

image.png

After 20 minutes at 350 degrees F in my little electric oven, it was ready to eat.

image.png

As I always say, plantain is a versatile ingredient when you want to prepare/eat foods that are usually made with wheat flour 😁 I hope you have found this post useful ❤️

image.png

Bon appetite!

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments