Enjoying a family lunch [ENG/ESP]

Hello, friends. Yesterday I had the opportunity to visit my grandparents, something I do whenever I can. My grandparents used to live in the countryside, and even though they are now in the city, they still have some culinary customs that I love.

Hola, amigos. Ayer tuve la oportunidad de visitar a mis abuelos, algo que hago cada vez que puedo. Mis abuelos solían vivir en el campo, y aunque ahora están en la ciudad, conservan algunas costumbres culinarias que me encantan.

photo_2024-01-14_23-57-36.jpg

photo_2024-01-14_23-57-41.jpgphoto_2024-01-14_23-57-29.jpg

One of those traditions they still maintain is to set the table in a special way during lunch and dinner. This is something that is being lost in Cuban culinary culture, but in my grandparents' house, it is sacred. Every time I go, I enjoy this unique experience.

Una de esas tradiciones que aún mantienen es la de armar la mesa de manera especial durante el almuerzo y la cena. Esto es algo que se está perdiendo en la cultura culinaria cubana, pero en casa de mis abuelos, es sagrado. Cada vez que voy, disfruto de esta experiencia única.

photo_2024-01-14_23-58-15.jpg

photo_2024-01-14_23-58-06.jpg

photo_2024-01-14_23-58-00.jpg

photo_2024-01-14_23-57-49.jpg

The food at my grandparents' house is something I enjoy. My grandmother is the best in the family in the kitchen, and what I like the most is that there is no dish that can resist her. This time, lunch was excellent, as always. We had yucca with mojo, chicken broth with beans and plantain tostones, ripe tomato, white rice, black beans and ripe plantains. Also, here we have the custom of eating ripe plantains with our food, something we love.

La comida en casa de mis abuelos es algo que disfruto. Mi abuela es la mejor de la familia en la cocina, y lo que más me gusta es que no hay plato que se le resista. Esta vez, el almuerzo fue excelente, como siempre. Tuvimos yuca con mojo, un caldo de pollo con habichuela y tostones de plátano, tomate maduro, arroz blanco, frijoles negros y platanitos maduros. Además, acá tenemos la costumbre de comer plátanos maduros junto con la comida, algo que nos encanta.

photo_2024-01-14_23-57-53.jpg

But what really won me over was the chopped and boiled cabbage with tomato and chili. It was great, so much so that I asked my grandmother for the recipe. After doing some research, I discovered that it is very similar to escabeche de col, with slight differences. Sometime I will try to make it and if I succeed I will share it with you.

Most important of all was the time we spent together. Eating at my grandparents' house is always an experience that goes beyond the food. We sit around the table, share stories, mostly about my grandfather, I really enjoy his company. There is nothing like home cooked food, prepared with love and tradition.

I think it goes without saying that you should not hesitate to visit your grandparents and enjoy those special moments that only they can give us. You know, life is only one and it is better to regret what we did than what we left undone. So I try to enjoy them whenever I can, because I consider myself lucky to still have these great people.

Pero lo que realmente me conquistó fue la col picada y hervida con tomate y ají. Era grandiosa, tanto así que le pedí la receta a mi abuela. Después de investigar un poco, descubrí que es muy parecida al escabeche de col, con ligeras diferencias. En alguna ocasión trataré de hacerla y si me sale la comparto con ustedes.

Lo más importante de todo fue el tiempo que pasamos juntos. Comer en casa de mis abuelos siempre es una experiencia que va más allá de la comida. Nos sentamos alrededor de la mesa, compartimos historias, la mayoría de mi abuelo, disfruto mucho de su compañía. No hay nada como la comida casera, preparada con amor y tradición.

Creo que está de más decirles que no duden en visitar a sus abuelos y disfrutar de esos momentos especiales que solo ellos pueden brindarnos. Saben, la vida es una sola y es mejor arrepentirnos de lo que hicimos que de lo que dejamos por hacer. Por lo que trato de disfrutar de ellos cada vez que puedo, porque yo me considero afortunado por contar aún con estas grandiosas personas.


marcador.gif

📷 Xiaomi Redmi 9A | 💻 Asus Celeron N4020
Original text in Spanish: Translated with DeepL
Twitter

marcador.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center