Cheesy Seed Bread - step-by-step

Anyone for a slice of hot bread with a pat of butter?
20240818_132545~2.jpg

Some aromas take me right back to childhood, and one of them is the smell of bread baking. It was pure torture when Mom took the bread from the oven and wrapped it in a tea towel to rest, before we could start slicing it.
That resting period is something a child cannot, or does not want to, understand.
Of course, we soon learnt that slicing the bread too soon would turn the bread into a big crumbly mess!

My brothers always had friends over to play touch rugby; Mom made two loaves of bread daily, and one of them would be polished off that same afternoon. I am convinced that not just the game, but that hot bread, was a magnet for the friends, as their Moms did not bake bread.

Having grown up with homemade bread, I cannot eat the mass-produced bread that is sold in our stores. Although I have been trying to avoid bread due to IBS, I do long for it and believe homemade at least is better for one, so I will share my basic white bread recipe with you.

One can add seeds, raisins, cranberry, or bran, and substitute some of the white flour with brown or whole wheat flour.
I added seeds and topped the loaves with grated cheese, but, I'm running away with myself, so here goes:

Basic Ingredients:

20240817_112727.jpg

The Recipe

White bread with seeds.jpg


Mixing and Kneading

mix knead.jpg

The Rising

the rising.jpg
I always use my Wonder Bag to let the bread rise - any warm space will also work.
20240817_wonderbag.jpg

The Bake

the bake.jpg

The Proof is in the 'Pudding'!

20240818_132216.jpg

I would have preferred Strawberry or Blueberry Jam, but am trying to cut back the sugar, so had to be satisfied with fresh fruit on the side.
20240817_145057.jpg

(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ BON APPETIT FRIENDS! ♥


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments