Surprise, Surprise! | Vegetarian is Going Mainstream in the Philippines

The Christmas season is here. Even though we are still in the middle of a pandemic, there are a lot of things to be thankful for. With the improving health situation in the country and the increase in economic activity, everyone will be hoping for a better 2022.

It's already the last month of the year and I can't even recall what happened to me during the last quarter. Everything was a blur. LOL

What I do remember from the past month was the surprise I had while out on a nice evening stroll at the mall and discovering Kenny's Beyond Burger, which you can read about in this post I uploaded a couple of weeks ago here.

20211106_162009-d.jpg


If you hadn't been following my blog, we discovered a nearby nearby restaurant that serves Beyond Meat Burgers. Not only that, they serve it both as a burger and as part of a mashed potato meal, which was one of the best #foodie experiences I've had this year.

To go back to my story. So, I was out for a walk to get a few items at a nearby convenience store and something caught my eye. I saw an Unmeat logo at one of the open chillers where they keep meal boxes and similar items. I came closer and I got the shock of my life: an Unmeat Burger in a 7-11 Meal Box.

Yes, it's the same plant-based burger that I wrote about two weeks ago from Kenny Roger's. And the best thing about it: it's going to be cheaper. At only Php99.00, that's just US$1.96, which is just about right for a quick eat-and-run if I just want to get one and store it in my freezer for "emergencies". LOL

For comparison: Kenny's Beyond Burger is Php295.00 ($5.92) while Shakey's Goood Burger is Php185 ($3.71) so the price is way better than other plant-based offerings in the area.

We've already had lunch, so I went back to the convenience store at around 7:30 p.m. and bought 2 packs of the Plant-Based Burger Steak for tasting.

image.png


FIRST IMPRESSIONS

  • The gravy was really good. It was sweet and savory, and had that buttery taste you'd expect to get from this kind of meal. It wasn't over-spiced nor too bland. It was just right.

  • The packaging was a vacuum-sealed tray with a slip-on label, which was also very nice as it won't spill if you are taking it back to the office and just using the microwave at the pantry to heat it up.

  • As I mentioned earlier, the price is really affordable and this is what makes it so great. People will be able to enjoy quality plant-based meal whenever they want to without breaking the bank.


image.png


To end this short review, this was an early Christmas gift that the universe sent over. The price point seems just right, the taste is fantastic, and the serving isn't too small (although an extra serving of rice might be needed for a hungry adult). The best thing about it is that it will be available in the 1,000 branches that 7-11 has in the country if things go well in this initial batch of the Plant-Based Burger Steak.

We have a 7-11 store just outside of our subdivision - a five minute walk - so the location is perfect for a quick bite destination.

So, that's it for now. Thanks for reading up to here. All the best and keep safe everyone!

@juanvegetarian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now