Classic Asian Dish // Minced Pork with Potato and Carrots

I went to market with my Aunt in the morning as she wanted to buy some pork. She used to walk to market but now it is slightly inconvenient to her due to some leg's nerve pain. We wanted to cut down to risk of falling down, so I met her up to go together in my car. Yay!

She wanted to buy for my family roasted pork belly but I told her it wasn't necessary because it was freaking expensive. Instead, I wanted to buy some minced pork, so she bought me a packet worth Rm20. Let's put it to good use!

Stir Fry Minced Pork with Potatoes and Carrots

This is a basic Chinese dish loved my many household, at least I know the busy moms love it and children love it too. I was out of idea of what to cook, so I thought of the basic. My Mum used to cook this dish quite often for us too when we were young. I am a faithful inheritor! Haha!

Ingredients

Fairly simple ingredients needed which could be easily found in most pantry.

  • minced meat (I used minced pork)
  • onions and garlic
  • potatoes
  • carrots
  • dark soy sauce and light soy sauce
  • oyster sauce
  • salt and pepper
  • sugar ( optional)

Just diced up all the vegetables to your desired size, I wanted everything looked cube-shaped and so that was what I did.

Cooking time!

This time I used pork lard since I was using minced pork. Added in the pan a tablespoon of pork lard.

When it was melting, there went the onions and garlic, stir fry till aromatic.

Then, I added in the minced pork, with some patience to spread it around, minced it with the spatula in order to ensure all the meat surface was cooked. The colour would change from pink to whitish when it was about done.

Then I added in the seasoning, some oyster sauce, light soy sauce, I was running out of dark soy sauce so I replaced with Worcester sauce, some salt and pepper and a teaspoon of sugar.

Mixed them all until all meats were incorporated with the seasoning. By now, the whole dish smelled so fragrant.

After this, I added in water to just enough to cover the meat, and added in the carrots and potatoes, cover with lid and let it simmered for 20 minutes till the potatoes and carrots were soft.

At the end of cooking, I find the dish still lacking one flavour, so I actually added in mushroom stock. Then it was complete delicious dish.

I asked my eldest son to taste it, he said 100%! Haha!

Voila!

Simple fast easy cooking like this was super satisfying. We love to eat this with a bowl of warm cooked rice.

The yield was a lot too. Therefore, I splitted it into three different containers, for lunch and dinner respectively and another extra for tomorrow. I felt happy that I had prepared today's meal as well as one meal for tomorrow. Awesome!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments