Summer's Strange Kitchen - Let's Get Spicy! Hot Sauce Recipe

Greetings from my weird little corner of the world!

Most of the time, I don't plan on creating new recipes...I just end up running out of things. Now, it would be easy enough to just go to the shop and buy more stuff, but...except for trying to save a little bit of money (Hive is my only source of income for now and I would much rather spend all that on art supplies), it is also just way more interesting to learn how to do a new thing. We really are too reliant on shops for things, but I won't go off on that tirade again.

This week, after realizing that I was out of hot sauce (which I like to have on pretty much everything, if given the choice) I decided to finally use the peppers that I've had in my freezer for a while.

There is a more interesting way to make hot sauce, but that involves fermenting the peppers, which I am pretty into trying someday soon, but I was impatient so this is just a quick cook recipe that I came up with after doing some research on basic recipes. As usual, after reading up on how to do it, I ignored my research and decided to just wing it.

Hot Sauce Recipe and Method:

Ingredients

  • 1.2 kg peppers (any kind will do, go with what you like)
  • 7 Teaspoons garlic flakes
  • 4 Cups of water (I used filtered water, because the tap water here is scary)
  • 2 Teaspoons salt
  • 1/3 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/3 Cup Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons Honey
  • 1 Teaspoon Cornflour

Method

-Wash and cut tops off peppers

-Add to large pot

-Add garlic flakes

-Add water

-Add apple cider and balsamic vinegars, honey, and some salt and give it all a stir.

-Cook over medium-low heat to bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat down and let it all simmer for 15-20 minutes.

-Remove from heat, add cornflour while still hot. Use blender (I used a stick blender, because I broke the other one) to blend everything till very smooth.

-Pour into clean glass bottles while still hot.

Trying not to drop the very hot bottle!

-Enjoy!

I might add some basil and paprika to my next batch, but it turned out pretty decent. A very easy and fun project.

Well...that's it! Till next time!

Credit - All photos are my own, taken using Samsung A33 camera
Banner created using Adobe Express

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center