Summer's Strange Kitchen - Beetroot and Pineapple Scones (Air Fryer)

Greetings from North West, South Africa!

Today I will be sharing another one of my weird little kitchen experiments. I usually tend to zone in on, and experiment a lot with whichever ingredients I have an abundance of in my pantry.
Lately those ingredients have been beetroot and oat flour, which I only recently learnt to make. Really enjoying some of the results I have been getting from it.

Seeing as the past few weeks have been pretty exhausting, I figured it would be the perfect time to make one of my personal favourite comforting snacks...namely, some simple but always yummy scones!
Obviously, there had to be a little twist though...that's where the beetroot comes into play, as I thought it would add a fun pop of colour to them while also adding to our veggie intake. Somewhere along the way, I also decided to add some oat flour, for the sake of experimenting, and also a little bit of canned pineapple, because I had some left over from last night's Pizza Night.

So, here we go: Beetroot and Pineapple Scones, sounds like a weird combination, but it actually works pretty well.

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3/4 Cup Flour
  • 2/3 Cup Oat flour
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar or honey if preferred
  • 1/3 Cup Beetroot, Boiled, Cooled and sliced
  • 1/4 Cup Canned Pineapple pieces
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 2 Tablespoons cold Butter
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 Teaspoon vanilla essence

Method

Blend together pineapple pieces and cooled beetroot chunks. I find it easiest to use a stick blender for this.

To the beet and pineapple mixture, add sugar/honey , egg and vanilla, blend well. You can even give it another whirl with the stick blender at this stage.


In separate large bowl, add flour, oat flour, baking powder and pinch of salt. Whisk.

To flour mixture, add butter, cut or whisk in till it resembles fine crumbs/beach sand.

Add wet ingredients to dry.

Mix until it just starts to come together, do not overmix, the resulting dough will be quite soft and a little bit sticky.

Carefully transfer to greased air fryer liner/ air fryer safe baking tray or cake tin (whatever you can safely put int there) and flatten slightly to about 2cm thick

Dip a sharp knife in some flour and cut into 8 sections. Brush with a mixture of vanilla and milk. Sprinkle with a tiny bit of brown sugar.

Bake in pre heated air fryer at 140C/ 285F for 35-40 minutes, flipping about 10 minutes before cooking time is over.

Enjoy!

Till next time!

Credit: All photos are my own, taken using Samsung A33 camera
Banner created using Adobe Express

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center