What's Cooking Today? - One Pot Chicken Rice

Last weekend, I decided to cook up a simple meal as I invited my youngest sister over to have a small family reunion. I like to have the boys spend time with her because I remember how I used to like to stick with my aunt. I always wished she could stay with us longer, and longer and longer. So when my children have a youngest aunt, I thought let them have as much memories they can with their aunt as well. Hahaha. Good thing my sister also is okay with children.

One Pot Chicken Rice

I cooked a simple one pot chicken rice which was supposedly called claypot chicken rice. But since I did not use claypot to cook it but a rice cooker instead, then I decided to omit the word 'claypot'.

Ingredients needed:

🐔 Chicken legs (I used 6)

🐓 Rice
🐔 Dried Shiitake Mushrooms

🐓 Salted Fish

🐔 Dried Chinese Sausages (with skin peeled off)

🐓 Spring onion / Green scallion

🐔 oyster sauce
🐓 Chicken stock
🐔 white pepper
🐓 soy sauce
🐔 Chinese rice wine

Let's get prepping and cooking!

First things first,**marinate the chicken legs overnight. I marinated them with chicken stock, oyster sauce, soy sauce, Chinese rice wine and white pepper.

I also made small cuts on the chicken legs to enable the marinade to go in easily and the chicken leg to cook faster.

I kept them in zip lock bags overnight in the fridge.

The next day the chicken legs were cut into smaller pieces so they can all enter my rice cooker easily.

We measured 2.5 cups of rice and cooked with firstly the water used to soak the mushrooms to become soft and also the marinade from the chicken. We needed 3 and 3/4 cups of water for this amount of rice so we measured up and topped up the leftover amount with water.

With uncooked rice at the bottom, we then placed the raw chicken pieces on top of the rice in the rice cooker.

Lined in the dried shiitake mushrooms which were cut into strips earlier too.

Followed by the Chinese Sausages too.

Added a bit more of seasonings such as the Chinese rice wine, light soy and oyster sauce.

Mix it up a little and turn on the rice cooker to put the rice to boil like how we usually boil rice.

Unplanned Baked Chicken Legs

Because I had 2 bigger chicken legs and they could not fit in the rice cooker, I decided to bake them in the oven instead at 200C for about 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, we brushed the chicken legs with the same ingredients as the marinade earlier.


Bake again for another 10 minutes and repeat the brushing process. Lastly baked at 250C for about 5 to 7 minutes by observing how brown you want it to be.

At the same time, the chicken rice in the rice cooker was also ready!!! Yay smell the fragrance of it!

I air fried my salted fish at 190C for 5 minutes to fragrant it up before mixing into the chicken rice in the rice cooker.

Sprinkled on some green scallion as garnishing.

The baked chicken legs looked so good!


Stir- Fried Romaine Lettuce

Now I wanted to have another vegetable dish to balance the nutrients so I chose the Romaine lettuce. It was easily done and the best vegetable to pair with the chicken rice.

Prepared some shallots and garlic, cut into minced pieces.


Stir-fried them in heated oil in the wok.

Add in the washed Romaine lettuce and cooked them for a while to soften them.

Added in some oyster sauce and white pepper to season to taste and that's it!

Once done, sprinkle some garlic for garnishing and for some crunch.


Another dish was a herbal soup cooked by my mum-in-law to strengthen the lungs. So here we had:

Chicken rice cooked in rice cooker

Stir-fried Romaine Lettuce

Extra delcious and moist baked chicken leg

Thus a hearty satisfying dinner for 6!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center