Mixing Asian and Western Flavors in a Vegetables' Sauteed |EN/ES|

1652139904595-01.jpeg


Asian and western flavors do not always mix well, but it is worth the experiment. When I think of eggplants and parmesan cheese I imagine Italian food. On the contrary, when I think of celery and soy sauce I think of Chinese food. I wanted to prepare a good combination of these flavor and see what came out of it. In this post I share a vegetables sauteed with my favorite flavors from both worlds.

Los sabores asiáticos y occidentales no siempre se mezclan bien, pero vale la pena experimentar. Cuando pienso en berenjenas y queso parmesano me imagino comida italiana. Al contrario, cuando pienso en apio y salsa de soja pienso en comida china. Quería preparar una buena combinación de estos sabores y ver qué salía. En este post les comparto un salteado de vegetales con mis sabores favoritos de ambos mundos.

1652139075291-01.jpeg

To start, I chopped eggplants, zucchini, carrots, celery, and chayote. These represents the hardest vegetables that need longer cooking time. I also chopped some shard stems which are similar to celery, and I kept the leaves for a further moment in this preparation. Once all was chopped as I wanted, I added the vegetables in the pan to begin cooking them.

Para empezar, corté berenjenas, calabacines, zanahorias, apio y chayote. Estos representan las verduras más duras que necesitan más tiempo de cocción. También corté unas astillas que son parecidas al apio, y las hojas las guardé un momento más en esta preparación. Una vez picado todo como yo quería, añadí las verduras en la sartén para empezar a cocinarlas.

1652139192872-01.jpeg

1652139248619-01.jpeg

I added 2 spoons of vegetable oil, and a few drops of sesame oil. The last one is more about the aroma it immediately gives to the plate rather than provide a cooking base. Also, that type of oil tend to have a little bit of a burnt flavor, so for this preparation I wanted to prevent the vegetables from getting it in a strong way. Once I added the oil, I mixed all vegetables together. After a few minutes, the next step was to add a very special soy sauce we bought weeks ago. It is light (no mushrooms), yet it has a strong MSG or ajinomoto ( sodium glutamate) flavor to it. It tastes similar to soy sauce for sushi. AS you can see, the sauce wouldn't darken the vegetables too much, but I can assure you they got the umami flavor associated with Chinese salt.

Agregué 2 cucharadas de aceite vegetal y unas gotas de aceite de sésamo. El último se trata más del aroma que le da inmediatamente al plato que de proporcionar una base para cocinar. Además, ese tipo de aceite tiende a tener un poco de sabor a quemado, así que para esta preparación quise evitar que las verduras lo cogieran de forma fuerte. Una vez que agregué el aceite, mezclé todas las verduras. Después de unos minutos, el siguiente paso fue agregar una salsa de soya muy especial que compramos hace semanas. Es ligero (sin champiñones), pero tiene un fuerte sabor a MSG o ajinomoto (glutamato de sodio). Tiene un sabor similar a la salsa de soja para sushi. Como pueden ver, la salsa no oscurecería demasiado las verduras, pero les puedo asegurar que adquirieron el sabor umami asociado con la sal china.

Once the vegetables obtained that "shiny" appearance due to the hot oil, I added the shard leaves, and chives. At this point, it was necessary to revising the seasoning ingredients, and I ended up adding more soy sauce and one more oil spoon. It was also time to assess how soft the hard vegetables were to stipulate the rest of the cooking time.

Una vez que las verduras adquirieron ese aspecto "brillante" debido al aceite caliente, añadí las hojitas, y el cebollino. En este punto, fue necesario revisar los ingredientes de la sazón, y terminé agregando más salsa de soya y una cucharada más de aceite. También era hora de evaluar qué tan blandas estaban las verduras duras para estipular el resto del tiempo de cocción.

1652139549897-01.jpeg

1652139617718-01.jpeg

The leaves quickly became soft as I kept mixing and moving everything. Notice that to this point, I have never added water or salt to this preparation. All vegetables have their own water inside, and the moment you add salt, they will release that water. So, I added regular salt and ajinomoto or MSG. I love to buy the tubular crystal form instead of the powder one. I feel with that I am actually buying ajinomoto and not some kind of mixed glutamate. You can notice the tiny tubular crystal on that close-up shot above this text.

Las hojas rápidamente se ablandaron mientras seguía mezclando y moviendo todo. Fíjate que hasta este momento, nunca le he agregado agua o sal a esta preparación. Todas las verduras tienen su propia agua adentro, y en el momento en que agregues sal, soltarán esa agua. Entonces, agregué sal regular y ajinomoto o MSG. Me encanta comprar la forma de cristal tubular en lugar de la de polvo. Siento que en realidad estoy comprando ajinomoto y no algún tipo de glutamato mixto. Puede notar el diminuto cristal tubular en ese primer plano arriba de este texto.

1652139686416-01.jpeg

Here comes a little tricky part. Vegetables like carrots and celery are quite hard in consistency. So, if to this point they are not soft enough you have to do something. For me, they were eatable, but my family likes everything softer, so I ended up using the water all vegetables released after adding salt to the preparation to soften carrots and celery a little more. I covered the pan, and water started to evaporate and condensate inside. This made the sauteed a little more like a stew, but not entirely. There was no soup or anything, only a little bit of liquid. On the contrary, I could have keep mixing and moving all the vegetables with a high flame to keep them crunchy and dry.

Aquí viene una pequeña parte complicada. Las verduras como las zanahorias y el apio tienen una consistencia bastante dura. Entonces, si a este punto no son lo suficientemente suaves, debes hacer algo. Para mí eran comestibles, pero a mi familia le gusta todo más suave, así que terminé usando el agua que soltaban todas las verduras después de agregarle sal a la preparación para ablandar un poco más las zanahorias y el apio. Cubrí la cacerola y el agua comenzó a evaporarse y condensarse en el interior. Esto hizo que el salteado se pareciera un poco más a un guiso, pero no del todo. No había sopa ni nada, solo un poco de líquido. Por el contrario, podría haber seguido mezclando y moviendo todas las verduras a fuego alto para mantenerlas crujientes y secas.

1652139756923-01.jpeg

Last step was to add parmesan cheese to this preparation. The result of this experiment was quite good actually. The soy sauce combined well with all vegetables, sesame oil gave a nice aroma, and the parmesan cheese just brought out the best in those eggplants and zucchini. Just because I like things acid (and because sometimes eggplant might require it) I tried adding some lemon to my serving. I loved it as well. I never imagined those flavors to merge that well. I guess I didn't screw up lunch this time lol. Anyway, this is it. I hope you like vegetables as much as I do, and if you have different ways to flavor them please let me know in the comments so I can try your way out!

El último paso fue agregar queso parmesano a esta preparación. El resultado de este experimento fue bastante bueno en realidad. La salsa de soja combinó bien con todas las verduras, el aceite de sésamo le dio un aroma agradable y el queso parmesano simplemente sacó lo mejor de esas berenjenas y calabacines. Solo porque me gustan las cosas ácidas (y porque a veces la berenjena lo requiere), intenté agregar un poco de limón a mi porción. Me encantó también. Nunca imaginé que esos sabores se fusionaran tan bien. Supongo que no arruiné el almuerzo esta vez jajaja. De todos modos, esto es todo. Espero que te gusten las verduras tanto como a mí, y si tienes diferentes formas de darles sabor, ¡házmelo saber en los comentarios para que pueda probar la tuya!



@gaeljosser
Redmi note 7 camera
Edition with snapseed

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center