My first time trying Pigtail & Prawn Noodles soup at the Golden Mile Food Centre (sg)

IMG_1327.jpg


The other night, I went back to the Golden Mile Food Centre to see if there was food that would catch my foodie's eye. I usually go straight to the 2nd level of the building because most of the shops at the ground level are already closing. I reached the place around 8:00 PM, and more than half of the stalls were closed for the night, which is rather early, especially for a famous place like this.

I decided to go to the ground level and check which of the stalls were still open and were willing to serve food for me.

IMG_1333.jpg

A few steps from where I entered the building, a lady waved at me asking if I wanted prawn noodles soup, it turns out that she was one of the owners of the stall. Their stall is at the end of the hallway but she stands near the entrance to call for customers. I gave in and went to their stall because I didn't even know what I wanted for dinner, so when I was given a suggestion I was happy to take up the offer.

You won't see the shop right away from the entrance. As soon as I saw their stall, which was not visible from the entrance, I understood that the lady had called customers and brought them straight to their stall. That's a bit of an aggressive marketing but if it works then it should be a good thing for their business.

Here's the stall. It's managed by a couple. The lady is getting customers and taking orders while the Uncle is the one making the food. I think they are a good team in managing their business.

IMG_1324.jpg

A funny moment while I was taking this photo, at first the lights for the signage were off because they were almost closing. And when they noticed that I was taking the photo, they asked if I wanted the lights to be turned on. I said, yes. And then they gladly turned it on because they understood that I would be posting about it on social media and so they wanted to make their shop look nice in the photos :D

I ordered #5 which is the Pigtail Prawn Noodle soup, which cost me S$6 for the small serving size.

IMG_1326.jpg

They labeled it as small but it's good enough for me, it's the kind of serving size that I'm used to. I think I made a good decision about my choice because I also don't want to spend more than that for a bowl of noodles.

In this bowl, I have 3 (halved) size prawns, a few chunks of pigtail, deep-fried pork lard, spinach, and then egg noodles.

IMG_1328.jpg

IMG_1330.jpg

IMG_1331.jpg

IMG_1329.jpg

IMG_1332.jpg

You may not believe it if I say that the best part of this dish is the soup :D It is for me. And the reason is because it's the tastiest element of this dish. Every sip of the soup tasted like a condensed flavor of prawn and pork that blended. The flavor of prawn is more dominant than the pork. I think that both ingredients complement each other. The gelatinous fat of the pigtail tastes good when combined with the strong seafood of the prawn.

I would come back to this stall some other time to try the pork ribs and prawn noodles, I think that would be a nice combo as well. See you, Foodies!

IMG_1334.jpg

IMG_1325.jpg

IMG_1323.jpg


image.png


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now