My Grandfather's Secret Biltong Potjie Recipe: Indulging in Comfort Food

Unfortunately, my grandfather passed away a couple of years ago. How he would feel knowing that I am sharing his recipe, I am not sure.

But a couple of days ago, I missed him and after a couple of rough days at work, I needed some comfort food.

This dish is rich and creamy and filled with everything nice. If will makes you feel guilty, but you will thank me. It is so comforting that it feels like a hug from my grandfather.

By sharing his recipe, I hope to share his legacy and what he stood for. I will be exploring some of my family's recipes in the coming weeks! My grandmother made some awesome dishes that only my mother knows how to recreate.

So without further ado, please follow along with me to make this awesome dish!

Ingredients and Recipe

The ingredients for this dish are relatively simple. You will need:

  • Cream,
  • Cheese,
  • Peppers,
  • Garlic,
  • Onions,
  • Sweet corn (creamy),
  • Biltong,
  • Mushrooms,
  • Bacon, and
  • Pasta.

Method

The method is rather straight forward. If we wanted to be authentic, we could have made if over some coals. But this was merely a weeknight comfort food, I did not have the time to make a fire.

Begin by chopping the onions, garlic, and bacon.

Begin to shallow fry them and give them some color.

Whilst this is going, cut the peppers and mushrooms.

Add them to the onion and bacon mix and fry them as well until everything is golden brown and smells amazing.

Intermezzo: BILTONG

Many moons ago, three years to be precise, I shared a post on how to make biltong. Biltong is a dried meat in South African almost everyone eats. It is made with I think the silverside beef cut. It is marinated in Worcester sauce and brown vinegar and coated with some brown sugar, coriander seeds, and pepper. It is left outside in the wind or in front of a fan for a couple of days until dried out. It is surely the best snack ever. My granddad made this "biltong cutter" and we still use it to this day.

Return to the Pasta

By now, your pasta will also be cooked. Add the pasta and biltong to the potjie or pot in which you made the onion-mushroom-bacon mix.

But also add the cheese, cream, and creamed corn.

The residual heat in the pot will melt the cheese and create that awesome creamy and delectable texture.

And there you have it!

Comfort food at its best. It was so delicious and rich that I could not even eat all of it. I had some awesome leftovers the following day. It really hit the spot and made me think of my grandfather the whole time. He loved cooking this for us, but only on special occasions. Now I can cook it to remember him and you can cook it to make an awesome dish.

In any case, I hope you try this dish soon. Try to find biltong, it is really something special. Add it to this pasta and indulge in some comfort food. This dish is inspired by the one my grandfather made, where he got the recipe, I am not sure. All of the photographs are my own, taken with my iPhone. Happy cooking and stay well!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center