Vegetarian Dashi - Omit the Bonito and Let the Kombu Shine

Grilled Pizza.png

Making kombu dashi for a vegetarian tempura dipping sauce


Eat Your Vegetables

My son is slowly crawling his way out of picky eating habits and one way to get him to try different vegetables is dipping them in some tempura batter and frying them up. Not surprising, I think you could deep fry a sock and make it edible 🤣

As a vegetarian, one piece of the tempura puzzle I hadn't nailed yet was a vegetarian tempura sauce. During my meat eating days my recipes all included bonito flakes to make the dashi and I hadn't yet figured out how to make a dashi sans bonito. For such a simple and important stock it surprises me I had to read this recipe to decide to make a kombu dashi. Honestly I didn't think enough of the umami flavor would come through using only kombu, but I was wrong.

I used the cold brew method by placing the kombu in a mason jar and leaving it out in the sun for two hours. I wasn't expecting much, but I was shocked at the depth of flavor the completed dashi provided. I mixed it with some soy sauce and su that I had made for the rice we would be using for sushi later and was thrilled to taste a sauce that was as deep and satisfying as the bonito version.

The family and I ate the result so quickly that I failed to get more than the one photo of just the onions 🤦‍♂ Sorry, I failed to photo the broccoli, potato coins, carrots and red peppers. At the end of the post I added some photos of the sushi, edamame and roasted Brussels sprouts we also made to try and make up for my tempura photo fail 📷

Tempura Sauce Recipe

IngredientAmount
Kombu Dashi3/4 cup
Soy Sauce3 Tablespoons
Su2 Tablespoons

*️⃣ Combine all the ingredients and serve warm or cold


Su Recipe

IngredientAmount
Rice Vinegar1/3 cup
Sugar4 Tablespoons
Salt1 Tablespoon
2" piece of Kombu1 each

*️⃣ Combine all the ingredients in a small sauce pan
*️⃣ Bring the pan to a gentle simmer to dissolve the sugar and salt
*️⃣ Remove the kombu and allow the mixture to cool


An Enjoyable Meal


My Recent Posts:

🍕 Spring is in the Air - Check out my method for making pizza on the grill


Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center