Buwad, My Breakaway Food this Holiday Season

MERRY CHRISTMAS HIVE!

God has been good to me that He granted my wish this Christmas.

So let me take this opportunity to send you all my best wishes this holiday. I hope you enjoyed your time may it be with your family, friends or with yourself. It's my first christmas here on Hive and I get excited reading as people frome different side of the world share their christmas experiences and traditions.

The holiday season brings together family and friends. It is this time of the year when family, friends, former classmates reunites over good food and good laugh. And what is a celebration without those yummy foods like lechon, spaghetti, menudo, humba, adobo, caldereta, afritado, pancit, cakes and more food.

But for this blog I won't be showing you all those foods we usually enjoy during the holidays. Instead I will share with you the food that my taste buds and my gut will crave for after a back to back celebrations and gatherings over the same kind of foods.

Presenting to you my favorite buwad and atsara. This is the food I usually crave for after a series of eating pork and other meat recipes served during holidays and celebrations.

IMG_20221220_100743.jpg

Buwad or dried fish is my all time favorite. It is very common to Filipino tables. Buwad means sun-dried. To buwad a fish means to salt it and sun- dry it until it will lost its moisture. It is one way to preserve fish.

IMG20221220100032.jpg

Buwad has a distinct smell as you fry it that will pump up your appettite when you smell it. Smells yum, and tastes yum! 😆 I have a notion that westerners hate its smell but to us Filipinos, buwad is heaven. 😆

As you eat buwad with rice, you realize you ask for more rice and is eating more than you usually do. It is that good.

Buwad is usually eaten by dipping it to vinegar. You can also add chilli to spice it up. But for me, I love eating it with atsara.

Atsara is a Filipino relish made from grated unripe papaya in sweet brine. If you want to know more about the recipe, you can read it here. It is an easy to make recipe. I am not very much into cooking or food stuff so I did not make it on my own. I cook only because I have to, in order to survive 😁. I had it when a friend of my sold it to me.

Atsara and buwad is a perfect combination for a truely satisfying meal.

IMG20221220100103.jpg

Eating buwad and atsara requires one an important skill. That is eating without using spoon and fork but eating using only your hands, specifically your fingers. We call it kinamot. There is no better way to enjoy it.

Here are the steps in eating buwad and atsara with your fingers:

First, you pinch a little of buwad, atsara and rice. Then you pile them together at the side.

IMG20221220100910.jpg

Clamp you fingers together and pick up the small pile and put it in you mouth. That is how you do the "kinamot" style of eating. 😁

IMG20221220100820.jpg

If you haven't tried buwad, try it and you'll surely love it and will ask for more. Haha!

How about you? What's your favorite "breakaway" food this holidays?


Thank you for dropping by and have a wonderful day dear reader hivers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now