Homemade baba ghanoush + sauerkraut rolls

10/10 easy meals, random combination.

There are days when I don't know what I want, and there are also days when I at least know what I will eat.

_dsc7923.jpg

Baba ghanoush

I totally forgot the recipe for this hummus-like spread, and it’s eggplant season even though I’m not a big fan of it, except this spread, also for rolling hard cheese or for filling.

Two sliced eggplants, season with spices to taste (salt, pepper, garlic), place on a baking sheet.

Grease with olive or oil of your choice and bake in a preheated oven at 200 degrees.

_dsc7868.jpg

I had the rest of the crust from a recently made pie with pistachios and mortadella. So I got the idea for something like spring rolls, but not fried in deep oil.

100g cutted sauerkraut, 1 onion and fat for stewing.

Fry the onion briefly, then add the sauerkraut, simmer for 15-20 minutes.

_dsc7871.jpg

My roommate revealed to me the perfect combination of cumin and sauerkraut, so I added one pinch of it.

Bring out eggplant from the oven, turn each, add a little more oil to each and return it back.

Double the crust, put the filling at the very beginning of it, and then bent the outer edges inwards and roll.

Bake as a whole or cut it (it is crunchy, so I suggest before)

15-20 minutes at 200 degrees, oil them before baking, and sprinkle with sesame seeds of your choice.

Peel the eggplant, the flesh is what we need here, mine arent evenly baked but that will just influence texture and I don't mind nice chunks.

Add 1 spoon tahini, a pinch of salt, a pinch of pepper, and a pinch of smoked paprika (optional).

According to the original recipe, lemon juice should be added, but I left it out because sauerkraut is in rolls.

Grind all the ingredients with a fork.

_dsc7916.jpg

I planned different shots when everything is done, but I couldn't resist trying it right away, and that's where the will to take more photos left me.

_dsc7927.jpg

_dsc7930.jpg

Combine it as canapes, or chop some vegetable sticks and use it as a dip, whatever you do no mistakes will be made.

Bon appetit, guys! 🍴

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center