Introducing Sinigang na Baboy with Repolyo - An Out of the Ordinary Pork Sinigang

PhotoCollage_1641626576672.jpg

Greetings!

Here's a version of the popular "Pork Sinigang" from my country that is out of the ordinary. Most of the sinigang that I always cook is combined with vegetables such as Mustard, Snow Cabbage, and Water Spinach. This will be the first time that I am going to cook a sinigang with cabbage as the main vegetable ingredient instead of Mustard, Water Spinach, and Snow Cabbage.

In more than three decades since I was born this will be the first time that I am going to cook and taste a sinigang with cabbage. At first, I thought using cabbage as the main vegetable ingredient is not a good fit for pork sinigang. But when I tasted it is also as delicious as the one with Mustard, or Water Spinach, or Snow Cabbage.

Since cabbage is almost tasteless, I think it is the reason why it is a great fit for sinigang (which I never thought of in the first place).

By the way, in our language, we call Pork as Baboy and Cabbage as Repolyo.

And if you are going to cook sinigang I recommend that you add more whether you use mustard, snow cabbage, water spinach, or cabbage because the soup is very delicious especially with the cold outside. Or if you are eating less pork a sinigang with lots of vegetables will make you eat less pork in the process (like me).

Also, sinigang is best cooked and served during lunch and dinner. I also recommend that you add some chili in your bowl of sinigang when you are about to eat, a spicy sinigang soup is one of the best soups there is, it is heaven.

So, without further ado, here's how I cooked this very delicious soup dish...

  • Pork
  • Cabbage
  • Tomatoes
  • Powdered Tamarind
  • White Onions
  • Salt (to taste)

Wash and slice the pork into serving sizes (you can definitely slice the pork in any way that you want)

Wash and slice the cabbage (you can definitely slice the cabbage any way that you want, just don't make it very thin

Wash and slice the tomatoes (you can definitely slice the tomatoes in any way that you want)

Peel and slice the white onion (you can definitely used red onion and slice it any way that you want)

Prepare the powdered tamarind (if powdered tamarind is not available, you can definitely use fresh tamarind fruits)
20220106_111957.jpg

1. Put all the pork into a cooking pot

20220106_115153.jpg

2. Add all the sliced white onions

20220106_115240.jpg

3. Add all the sliced tomatoes

20220106_115321.jpg

4. Add some water (submerging all the sliced pork, or, you can add more, as for me I added more because there are seven-person waiting to be served with this dish), add some salt, then let it boil.

20220106_115414.jpg

5. Here's how a sinigang for 7 people will look like (_)

20220106_115518.jpg

6. When it starts to boil remove all the suds or bubbles that will come out using a ladle.

20220106_120952.jpg

7. After removing the suds and bubbles when it starts to boil add the powdered tamarind.

20220106_121416.jpg

8. When the taste is now okay you can now add all the cabbage.

20220106_122107.jpg

9. When the cabbage is cooked it is done.

20220106_122310.jpg

20220106_122444.jpg


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center