Introducing "Ginisang Monngo sa Kamatis na may Sotanghon" (2-step Cooking) - One of my All-time Favorite Dish

PhotoCollage_1641626701444.jpg

Greetings!

We do all have our own favorite when it comes to food. As for me, there are many dishes and recipes that I want (favorites). In pastry and bread, I primarily love the brownies/browny. In dessert, I primarily love ice cream, macaroni salad, buko salad (young coconut salad), and Leche Flan. In viand one of my primary favorites is the "Ginisang Monggo". I can say that Ginisang Monggo is my all-time favorite when it comes to vegetable viand.

I think "Ginisang Monggo" is pop culture in my country because most (if not all) restaurants do serve Ginisang Monggo on Friday. And it is popularly partnered with fried fish (specifically Blue Scad Mackerel).

Ginisang Monggo is also a very versatile dish because there are many ways that you can cook this delicious dish. You can cook it with lots of soup, you can cook it with almost no soup, you can combine it with Bitter Gourd leaves, or you can combine it only with Bitter Gourd fruit, or you can combine them both, you can combine it with Malabar Spinach, you can combine it with Moringa Leaves, you can combine it with young Tamarind leaves or young Tamarind flowers, you can combine it with canned Sardines in tomato sauce.

Today, the variant that I am going to share is the one combined with sotanghon noodles.

I traced back "Ginisang Monggo sa Kamatis na may Sotanghon" back when I was young (which was thirty years ago). Restaurants do not cook this variant of Ginisang Monggo, most of the time they only cook Giniang Monggo combined with Bitter Gourd leaves or Moringa leaves.

As far as I remember I first encountered this recipe being cooked by my father (in the 1980s). And I think this recipe was born because of the lack of available ingredients aside from sotanghon since we Ilocanos have a knack for adding any available ingredients available at hand.

Of all the variants of Ginisang Monggo I particularly love or my most favorites are the variants combined with Bitter Gourd leaves and the one combined with Sotanghaon (which is the one that I am going to share today with the community).

So, without further ado, here's how I cook this very delicious variant of Ginisang Monggo.

  • Monggo (Mung Beans)
  • Sotanghon
  • Tomatoes
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Cooking oil

Wash and slice the tomatoes (you can definitely slice the tomatoes any way that you want)

Peel and slice the onion (you can definitely slice the onion any way that you want)

Peel and slice the garlic (you can definitely slice the onion any way that you want)

Wash the monggo beans and remove those that are damaged

Prepare the sotanghon
20220107_110549.jpg

1. Boil the monggo beans

20220107_112420.jpg

2. When you got this consistency to remove it from heat

20220107_115850.jpg

3. Sautee the onion and the garlic in a cooking oil

20220107_120045.jpg

4. Add the tomatoes

20220107_120100.jpg

5. Stir occasionally until you got this consistency

20220107_120600.jpg

6. Add the boiled monggo beans

20220107_120638.jpg

7. Add some water, add salt, then let it boil

20220107_120746.jpg

8. When the taste is now okay, add the sotanghon

20220107_121842.jpg

9. When the sotanghon is cooked it is done

20220107_122659.jpg

20220107_122611.jpg


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center