Rye mess? Don't worry! / べとべとのライ麦生地はそういうものなのです

I was baking 100% rye sourdough bread yesterday. Rye is totally different from wheat. When you bake rye bread for the first time, you may doubt you are doing OK ...

I thought it may be interesting to show how messy it is to work with rye.

You can see how sticky the dough is with a video I posted on Instagram.

But it becomes a loaf!

IMG_9716.png

One important thing is to "ripen" it overnight. If you cut it right away, you may feel like throwing it away as it's quite gooey sticky. I did so few times (secret). But magic happens after ripening.

IMG_9718.png

Perfect 😊Happy bread baking with rye!


昨日ライ麦100%のサワードウのパンを焼きながら、これ、初めての人が生地見たら失敗しているんじゃないかとびびるよね・・・と思い、いかにライ麦のパンの生地がべとべとか書くことにしました。

べっとべとですね。。でもこれでいいんです。ライ麦はグルテンの含有量がとても少ないので小麦粉みたいなつるっとして伸びのある生地にはなりません。でも焼いてみるときちんと焼けます。

ただ、もう一つ気をつけなければいけないのが、焼いた後一晩寝かせるところ。焼けたものをすぐに切ると、べたべたというか水気が多い感じでこれまたげげっとなります。失敗したと思って捨ててしまう人もいるでしょう。実際私も何度か捨てました。でもこれもこれでいいんです。

一晩寝かせるときちんとライ麦のパンになっています。このプロセスはripeningと呼ばれていて、日本語に訳すと「熟成」といえばいいかな。

ライ麦のパンは作り方に癖があって慣れが必要ですが、おいしいんですよね。特に寒い日に。じんわり穀物の味のするパンを噛み締めて今週前半は仕事に励むとしましょう。

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center