My mother and bread / 母とパン

My love for bread comes from my mother. She got into baking when she was a university student. I grew up with her bread. I heard from her that I told a newspaper that I want to be a bread baker when I was a kindergarten child. Now my daughter says she wants to be a baker.

My mother passed away recently and I remember many things. The other day it was borscht. I have a lot of her memories related to food. You might imagine a chubby food-loving lady, but she was a slim and tall person.

Yesterday, while I was baking pita bread for dinner, I remembered she made me sandwiches with pita bread for my school lunch. I searched my mailbox with my mother's email address and the keyword "bread" and found bread pictures. Let me share a few memories on Hive.blog & Hive blockchain 😊

The photo below is a picture of sandwich I made with my mother's toast bread. The photo was attached to a thank you email I sent to her. She sent her bread from Tokyo to Kyoto where I live back then.

image.png

When my grandparents were still alive, she often baked two loaves at a time. I got one of the baking molds and brought it to Germany.

image.png

bread2.jpeg

When I moved to Germany in 2013 and started baking bread, it seems that I wrote in an email that my bread did not turn out fluffy. She wrote me some tips and explained that flour might be different. I enjoyed talking about bread baking with her as I didn't have a proper oven that I could use to make bread until I moved to Germany.

I also miss her butter rolls and Anpan, Japanese small bread filled with sweet bean paste. When I came back home from school, I could smell the freshly baked butter rolls. I spread butter on butter rolls and ate a lot ...

image.png

image.png

Although they are not "bread", steamed bread and banana bread were sometimes served for breakfast. Steamed bread with sweet beans was delicious ... Good old days.

steamed bread.jpeg

Although I am sad that my mother is no longer with us, I am satisfied that I have so many good memories with her. My grandmother and my mother left me nice (food) memories. I wish I could make many delicious memories with my daughter too.

🍞 🍞 🍞 🍞 🍞

私のパン好きは100%母ゆずりです。母は大学生の頃にパン作りにはまったそうで、私は母が作ったパンを食べて育ちました。時々買うことはあったものの、母はほとんど日々食べるパンを焼いていました。私が家を出てからも祖父母にパンを焼いて持って行ったり、私にも送ってくれたりしました。

先日母が亡くなり、いろいろなことを思い出します。先日のボルシチといい、なんというか食べ物にまつわる思い出が多いです。そして台所で思い出すんですよね。割腹のいい食べ物大好きなおばちゃんを想像するかもしれませんが、細くて背が高いかっこいい母でした。

昨日は母がよく焼いていたピタパンを夕食用に焼きながら、母が中高時代にピタパンのサンドイッチをお弁当に持たせてくれたのを思い出しました。夕飯の支度をしながら、メールボックスを母のメールアドレスと「パン」というキーワードで検索すると出てくる出てくるパンメールにパン写真 ・・・ということで少し思い出話をさせてください。

下の写真は母が送ってくれた食パンで、私がサンドイッチを作って「ありがとう」と送ったものです。中高時代はお弁当を毎日作ってくれていたのですが、サンドイッチの日も多く、おしゃれな洋風のお弁当が自慢でした。

image.png

祖父母が健在だったとき、私が日本にいたときには一度に2斤焼いていたこともありました。食パンを焼く型を一つもらってドイツに持ってきて使っています。なんとも母らしい形見です。

食パン2.jpeg

image.png

ドイツに移ってパンを焼き始めた頃に、私は食パンがふわふわにならないとメールに書いたようで、粉が違うのが理由かもなどと語る母の返信が出てきて笑ってしまいました。ドイツに来たばかりのころ、パンを焼けたのがうれしくて下手くそなパンの写真をほこらしげに母にたくさん送っていました・・・恥ずかしい w 一枚晒します。

image.png

バターロールやあんぱんも懐かしいです。学校から帰ってくると焼きたてのバターロールのいいにおいがして、おやつに山ほど食べました。バターロールにバターを塗って食べるのおいしかったなあ・・・。母が「パンにバターを塗っているのか、バターにパンを塗ってるのかわからない」「でもそれおいしいよね」と言っていたのを思い出します。祖母、母、私、子供、バター大好き一家です。

image.png

image.png

いわゆるパンではないのですが、朝ごはんには蒸しパンやバナナブレッドが出てくることもありました。甘納豆の入った蒸しパンおいしかったなあ・・・。

蒸しパン.jpeg

母とのメールを見ていると、新聞や雑誌のレシピを添付してあるものもあり、近々見直したいと思いました。

もう母がいないことは悲しいのですが、たくさん一緒に時間を過ごしてくれて、思い出を残してくれたいい母だったなあというのが今の気持ちです。祖母との思い出も思い返すと、食べ物が多いんですよね・・・イカ飯、イワシの梅煮・・・😅

昔のマスターカードのCMではないですが、「ものより思い出」です。私も子供とたくさんおいしい思い出を作れたらと思います。

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center