My Mom Flower Collection #3 - Hydrangea Flower

Hi Everyone!
How's is your first week of 2022? I hope you are all doing well and enjoying it!
For today's post, I would like to share another flower collection of my mom. After previously I shared about Desert Rose and Bougainvillea Flower, Now I will share about Hydrangea Flower.

"IMG_1076.JPG"

Hydrangea is also a houseplant/ornamental plant that is commonly found in any household around my environment. These flowers would be easily recognized by their look. Its growth forms as shrubs and the blossom flower will spread around the shrubs. These flowers could grow up to 3 meters and can thrive in sub-tropical climates at an altitude of 500 to 1500 above sea level.

"IMG_1075.JPG"

I spotted that there are 2 colors of this flower in my mother's flower collection. The first one is red and the other one is pink. I also looking for some references on the internet and found an interesting fact about this flower. Hydrangea could change its color (except for the white variant) due to the difference in power hydrogen (pH) on the soil. When the soil pH is at 4.5-5.5 (acidic) the flowers will be blue. Meanwhile, if the soil pH is 6.0-7.0, the flowers will turn pink.

"IMG_1059.JPG"

"IMG_E1003.JPG"

"IMG_E1062.JPG"

"IMG_1061.JPG"

Apart from being used as ornamental plants, Hydrangea could also used for many other things. For medicine, Its root known to cure multiple sclerosis (a disease that attacks the central nervous system), psoriasis (very fast skin turnover), kidney stones, diabetes, and arthritis. In addition, this plant can be used as aromatherapy. Around my environment, this flower is used as flowers sown during pilgrimages to graves.

"IMG_E1005.JPG"

Although it has many uses, this plant also needs to be watched out for, because it has dangerous parts. Hydrangea flower leaves are considered toxic because they contain cyanogenic glycoside compounds and will release hydrogen cyanide compounds when ingested. While I found this fact, I was shocked because as a child I used to pick the flowers and suck the juice from the base of the flower because it was sweet.

Thank You Everyone,
Hope you enjoy reading it!

**All Photos Taken With iPhone XR**

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now