Fermented Vegetables Heal Your Gut

Cauliflower & Carrots


food-preservation-sustainable-sunscape-1.jpg

This last week I cut up some fresh carrots and a large head of cauliflower. I mixed up a salt brine with distilled water and they fermented for 1 week on my countertop.

Filling Mason Jars


food-preservation-sustainable-sunscape-2.jpg

Once the gas bubbles stopped I placed the veggies into mason jars to keep in the refrigerator.

If you are wondering why the liquid seems cloudy it is because I added some Turmeric and Curry powder for some added flavor.

Fresh Lettuce


food-preservation-sustainable-sunscape-4.jpg

I went out to the greenhouse and picked some hydroponic lettuce and baby spinach.

Spinach Tower


food-preservation-sustainable-sunscape-7.jpg


I have been enjoying the spinach in salads for a couple of weeks now and it is very tasty.

food-preservation-sustainable-sunscape-5.jpg

Salad For Lunch


food-preservation-sustainable-sunscape-3.jpg

I am so happy that I added the turmeric and curry spices to the jars during fermenting. The flavor is amazing and it has a little bit of a kick to it. I hope you try fermenting your own veggies as they offer some great probiotic bacteria for your gut health. Happy gardening everyone!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments