Overcoming Vengeful Behavior

Although I'm the type who tends to enjoy being by myself and hardly indulge in interactions, especially when there are too many people around, despite being an introvert, there's one habit I've got back then that I'll say got me into trouble on several occasions, and looking back now, I can't help but wonder why I even did such in the first place. To some, I'm just a daredevil, and to others, I'm fareless, but to myself, I don't even know what I'll tag myself, but I was excited to finally get rid of that habit, and today I'll love to tell you all about it.

While growing up, one of the bad habits I've got is taking revenge on whoever does me or my loved ones wrong, regardless of their age, status, and position. I just find a way of making sure they themselves get a taste of their own medicine, and while doing all of these, I've been successful in some by not getting caught, and in others I'm not too lucky and get caught, leading to me getting into trouble and getting punished.

Take, for instance, during my junior secondary school days, my friend and I were in the classroom eating when a senior school student ran into our classroom and mistakenly poured the food of my friends away. Rather than apologize and say it was a mistake, he just shoved us away and even slapped my friend. Since that very day, I made up my mind that I'd make him pay for what he did, and as God will have it, two weeks later, I was fortunate to get an opportunity to get revenge.

My friend and I were walking along the corridor of the junior school students building, and then some senior school students approached us to go help them buy snacks. It's something normal for the senior students to want to claim seniority by sending us the junior on an errand, and when I went to them, I realized it was the same guy from two weeks ago. Immediately I smiled within myself, knowing fully well that my opportunity to revenge has come, even though I don't know what I'll do yet.

I'm sure he didn't remember our faces, so he told me all he needs and gave me money to go by them at the school canteen. I took the money and immediately left to buy what I was sent; I brought it, and at first my intention was to make the snack useless for him by pouring sand into it, but on second thought, I realized that'd be wasted, and I became attracted to the snack, so I decided to eat everything he sent me and just go back to class, hoping he won't recognize me.

Unfortunately for me, I eat everything I brought around the canteen, and probably after waiting forever without seeing me return with what he sent me, he came looking for me and saw me eating. On seeing him, I began to run, and he chased after me, but fortunately for me, the bell for breakover was jingle, meaning we all have to go to our respective classes.

I was safe for the time being, but after school hours I was cornered by the senior and his friends, who beat me until someone saw them and went to report them. That's how I escaped that particular plight. There were several of such situations that I revenged, acting like a daredevil, even towards my mom, dad, and teachers, but I changed on one of such occasions when my dad ceased my phone, and in revenge, I removed the battery of his phone and hid it.

I did as though I knew nothing about the missing battery, but unfortunately for me, when I went out of the house, dad searched all my bags and found his phone battery there. Man, that day I was beaten to the point where I saw heaven, and thereafter I realized I'm not helping anyone by always taking revenge, and so I began to let things slide, accepting my fate and hoping for better days ahead.


All photos are mine.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center