THE SILENCE TREATMENT

We have been married not up to 8 months, I am pregnant and I was warned not to lift heavy things but my husband will keep on saying bring this up, bring that and certain times I had voice out and say I can't I feel sick when I do this or that, His reply was I was using the pregnancy as a excuse.
This week before the curfew, we went to the market to get some stuff. I carried it, and it was getting heavier, so I told him to feel the weight of the goods, and he did; he said oh! It's heavy, and return it to me to carry again. After we walked a little while, I was complaining of chest burn, and he said you want me to carry the load for you? It's not my duty; it's yours. My duty as your husband is to provide which I have done and I replied to give me bike money, He was mute I said it doesn't matter, whether it's your duty or not, you know my condition and a gentleman is supposed to help, Well he didn't when we got home he want to eat he is hungry, He gave me some minutes to relaxed after cooking, I noticed if I talked to him he hardly responds, the next day he went out to get something brandy and was sipping it in the sitting room.
I went out to get what to use to cook at the door. I heard my husband on a call with his female friend, so no big deal; I went straight to the kitchen to start cooking. He was talking out loud, even our neighbour could hear him.
He initiated the video call, he was praising her gap teeth, saying how he wished he was still in her town, he would have to eat her soup, Telling her his plan for the future; he was just flirting with her, telling her he is bored and has no one to talk to, and that's why he went out to get highness to forget about his worries and sleep. I was still in the kitchen I couldn't make a sound, I was treading carefully so that she wouldn't notice there was someone else in the house because if she asked what will be his reply my sister, my worker or nobody I became scared of what he will call me since he gave the impression that he is not married because she keeps on trying to find out in their conversations he keeps on ignoring that part.
After the video call, he came to the kitchen and said I was talking to my female friend in Abia, I kept mute and served him. When he was done he thanked me, and then his friend called they spoke and he insisted he wanted to talk to his friend's fiancee telling her it's has been a long time since he saw her, she should visit tomorrow and this same person during our conservation he was praising her and he told me if I wasn't married to me, he would have married her.
With all the drama, in one day, I became exhausted and very quiet trying to process the level of disrespect, and all of a sudden, he said he was drunk, and his head was aching before I knew he was fast asleep smelling of Alcohol and the smell wouldn't make sleep so I slept in the sitting room.
Now he is helping unnecessarily with house chores, bringing old conservations, keeping his phones for me and always wants to be in my space. I only answered the important questions with short answers, no unnecessary gist.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center